Speakeasy 139 – Grandpa’s War

The instructions for Speakeasy 139:

Your piece must include the following sentence ANYWHERE: “Grandpa told the best stories.”

************************************************************************

“As I peered across the open space I could feel one thousand beady little eyes peering at me with laser-like focus, ready to cut me down in a moment. Between us lay untold numbers of spent men, whose life was celebrated, but death seemed wasted. For so many days no one had advanced, Allies nor Axis. We just traded fire, lead, mud and blood.

Then I saw that black-grey helmet slowly ease out of the trench. He was coming, coming for me. At first I slumped behind the safety of the ground and swallowed the huge knot in my throat. This is what I trained for over several weeks in New Jersey at Fort Dix.  

I could feel my nerves rumbling through my body and I focused to hear the German’s boots as he approached. I was fully loaded and ready to make my mark. I knew he would be ready. He already claimed Prescott, Kelly and Hamilton. But he would not get me.

I leaned away from the mouth of the trench and stood suddenly to face my foe. I shot four times, and he shot three. I spent six months in a French hospital, but was able to come home after that. It is my proudest achievement.” Grandpa finished and drifted off to sleep.

Julie looked at me with a question and nodded for the door. I followed her into the hall before she spoke.

“Your grandfather is not old enough to be a World War I vet!” Julie proclaimed.

“It is the Alzheimer’s,” I told her. “You can always know what movie he watched last by listening to him. Last week he was shipwrecked on an island with a volleyball. Grandpa told the best stories./strong>

************************************************************************

 Check it out here:Speakeasy #139

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Speakeasy, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Speakeasy 139 – Grandpa’s War

  1. Katie Kurtz says:

    Haha! Nice twist. Great job with this one.

  2. This is….unexpectedly touching. When I started reading, I thought here comes another stereotype Grandfather. But the twist is funny and heart-wrenching at the same time. Good job!

  3. Suzanne says:

    Hahaha! Good one. Poor Grandpa, but what a great twist! 🙂

  4. J. Milburn says:

    Oh! I chuckled at the last line, then the Alzheimer’s reference hit me and I felt guilty. Great story!

  5. ym1611 says:

    Wonderful story! Didn’t see that coming 🙂

  6. Stacie says:

    The twist at the end was great!

  7. eliz frank says:

    Bitter sweet… That end was funny and I couldn’t help but laugh. Such is life and the ailments that test us. Beautiful piece.
    Eliz

  8. ranu802 says:

    Very interesting story.I didn’t know Grandpa was speaking until I reached the end.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

