Adam’s Boots – Friday Fictioneers – 13 December

Note: As you read this I am midway through a week long mission trip in Central America. For the second year I traveled to Belize and am working with a seven person team to do some work at a tutor center. We began building bookshelves for a new library yesterday.

Welcome back to the addictive fun of Friday Fictioneers! You know the best fiction can be found right here. Led by  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, we take the photo and weave our magic with prose and poetry to entertain you. All around the world writers eagerly await their weekly tonic. Adam Ickes is the source of the photo for inspiration this week.

copyright - Adam Ickes

copyright – Adam Ickes

(Genre:Fiction) (100 words)

*************************************************************

Adam had waited forever for his prized brown boots. A nickel here, a dime there and his hard work finally paid off. Roads trod with bare feet in summer were not so bad, but frozen gravel and mud was a different animal.

His new brown boots squeaked but that was okay. He wore them like a badge of honor.  He ran all the way from school to the pier at the pond. Increasing speed he was headed for a record breaking cannonball.  He imagined the screech like a cartoon when he skidded to a stop. Not with the boots!

 

*************************************************************************

friday-fictioneers

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Adam’s Boots – Friday Fictioneers – 13 December

  1. kerrieanns says:

    That prompted a good chuckle from me. Lovely!

  2. I saw this as a pier also at first but the story didn’t come. Yours did and it was a perfect fit.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

