Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 27 October – Remember or Forget

Sunday is the beginning of another weekly invitation from Alastair to open our imagination and tell the world what we see in his photo prompt. There is always several rich stories that flow from this interesting photographic offering. If you fancy a short adventure add your 200 words or less and join the fray.

*************

Rapid breathing preceded a gasping exclamation of frustration. Daniel Terry groaned as he clamped both hands on the side of his still aching head. Forty two hours after the bright red sports car said to be his careened off the winding mountain road and rolled too many times to count he was still nestled in this hospital bed with no idea if he really was who everyone said he was. Amnesia. The doctor said, but he only heard of that in movies and television shows. He never had encountered anyone with the affliction in the real world.

“Tell me what you see,” Shelley pleaded. She was declaring to be his wife, but Daniel felt no attraction the woman.

“I see snatches of some things. I see part of a highway, maybe a reflection of a building or perhaps a sign.”

“We’ll just give it time. I will wait as long as it takes,” she said caressing his hand.

Daniel wasn’t sure if he wanted to feel something for her or not. What he desperately wanted to remember is if he needed a new start to his life. 

 

*************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 27 October – Remember or Forget

  1. Excellent and intriguing piece.
    Well done.

  2. iamfunny2 says:

    Starting new was part of my post as well although in a different way. Enjoyed your story and agree it could be expanded into a longer piece.

  3. misskzebra says:

    I wasn’t expecting this kind of story, and thought it was an original perspective.

  4. deanabo says:

    This is great! Maybe he can start over and have a good life.

  5. Al says:

    Nice! I like that. Does he attempt to fall in love again, or does he go for broke and start again? Will he remember? Will he like what he remembers. Will he have his eggs scrambled or fried? What will the doctor’s say? hehe sorry.

    I love this, it’s great. Thanks Joe. The name is changing next week. To Sunday Photo Fiction. There is a new badge on the page of you want it.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

