Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 6 October – Freedom Lost

Sunday is the beginning of another weekly invitation from Alastair to open our imagination and tell the world what we see in his photo prompt. There is always several rich stories that flow from this interesting photographic offering. If you fancy a short adventure add your 200 words or less and join the fray.

alistairs-photo-challenge-october-6

*************

I loved birds growing up in my home in the country. We had chickens, peacocks, turkeys and other sundry farm animals traversing the spread adding their piece to the cacophony of sound. To me it all equaled freedom, freedom from life in a congested metropolis that many of my school friends relished. To me being able to get out and cavort in the yard when I chose was a better endowment.

Now that was gone. I had been at the market, having reached the milestone of seventeen and finally receiving both mother and father’s blessing to retrieve the market goods alone. I had protested every day for the last two years that I was fully capable of doing it alone. I could handle the world I said.

Now the birds mocked not only me but the other girls confined in this room lit only by the small holes at the top of the wall inside our temporary home. I hear the men say slavery, trafficking and talk about all the money they would collect. At this point the sounds of my feathered friends were not reassuring, but biting. 

*************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 6 October – Freedom Lost

  1. nightlake says:

    a different voice. nice story

  2. julespaige says:

    This sort of fits with my Ligo haibun this week. While I do hope you also enjoy the continuing Dixie Saga…
    You might like this too:
    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/ligo-haibun-hysteria-in-history/

  3. Al says:

    Added you to the linkz 🙂

  4. Al says:

    OUCH!! That’s a fantastic story.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

