Trifextra – Week Eighty-Six – Nov 22, 1963

This weekend’s Trifextra comes to us courtesy of MOV, who often emails us with suggestions for site improvement or potential prompts.  Most recently, she told us about Travel and Leisure magazine’s “Super Short Travel Stories” competition, thinking that we could recreate the same challenge on our site.  We love the idea, but borrowing it outright feels a bit shady, so we’re going to add our own twist to it.  This weekend, we want you to give us a 33-word time travel story.  We don’t usually tell you what to title your piece, but we’d love it if you could title it with the year/date that you choose.
– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.8uf3RJ9z.dpuf

Check out Trifextra Week Eighty-Six if you are interested.

*********

Like Marty McFly I thundered out of 2013 into 1963; roaring down Main Street to the intersection with Houston Street. President Kennedy in a fender bender, but would live to finish his term.

*********

I want to point you flash fiction writers to another option. It is Flash in the Pan, where you write short fiction 50-150 words respectively to words chosen and posted each week. 250 responses will be collected and published by Redmund Productions. You can check the details at the following link: Flash in the Pan.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Fiction, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Trifextra – Week Eighty-Six – Nov 22, 1963

  1. deanabo says:

    Marty McFly reference just earned you many bonus points with me! Great job.

  2. Interesting! It’s fun to think about how we could affect history if we could just go back, isn’t it?
    -Alicia Audrey
    http://www.aliciaaudrey.com/blog/trifextra-86-1986

  3. Would Kennedy have been such a legend if he had lived? Would all of his great legislation, pushed through by LBJ, have made it through Congress? I often wonder.

    • Joe Owens says:

      Americans are so bad to imagine such a great outcome for those whose lives are cut short. I can never understand it myself. When i red the description of the Trifecta prompt this is what I settled on. Kennedy was killed over a year before i was born, so I have little direct influence. Other than the fact that I think the U.S. president should be well protected enough that this should never happen I really have little thought about how good a full term or extended presidency for Kennedy could have worked out.

  4. Bit of irony in a mistake changing history. John Kennedy still inspires people.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

