Trifecta-Week Ninety-Five – Rainbow

Monday morning at 10 AM we get another prompt from Trifecta. You don’t know who Trifecta is? It is a group that provides two prompts each week, on Monday and Friday for your fiction writing pleasure. The Monday prompt is geared to fall between 33 and 333 words and based on a one word prompt. Using the third definition from the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary you will put together a fiction masterpiece. Along with the other nearly 100 writers taking the plunge you will create an exciting story for others to read.

This is another installment of my serial story about the adventures of Sophia Marcus, homicide detective. You can read the preceding chapters at this page: Detective Sophie Marcus

With that said let’s get on to the word for Trifecta Week Ninety-Five.

1:  an arc or circle that exhibits in concentric bands the colors of the spectrum and that is formed opposite the sun by the refraction and reflection of the sun’s rays in raindrops, spray, or mist
2a :  a multicolored array
 b :  a wide assortment or range <a rainbow of flavors>

This week’s word is rainbow.

– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.AY167bwU.dpuf

 ★★★★★★

Sophie’s silence drew Tom’s attention as they made the drive to the home of the commissioner’s ex-wife. Usually the younger detective would be ruminating over the facts they knew, trying to stitch together a hypothesis about why or who. This ride was abnormally silent.

“If you ask me, the gopher did it. He was always shifty when he sang that song out on the golf course,” Tom said.

“Yeah, sounds plausible,” Sophie said as she looked out the window.

“Hey kid, wake up. Did you even hear what I said?”

“Huh? Of course you told me who you thought killed the kid.”

“Yeah? Who was it?”

“I don’t remember,” Sophie admitted.

“It was the gopher from Caddyshack!” Tom said as he guffawed aloud. “What is going on with you?”

“I am not looking forward to talking to the rainbow chaser.”

“You mean Mrs. Kord?”

“Yep,” Sophie nodded.

“What have you got against privilege?”

“Let’s just say I had my fill in college. The debutantes at my school overdosed me on the whole silver spoon lifestyle. If I even get in the room with that type I begin to get edgy.”

“Well, I need you sharp as you ever are. We need to produce some results soon. I am sure the commissioner will be looking for our report before the day’s end about what progress we have made.

“Then I hope we make some, because right now we have a big pile of nothing,” Sophie said with a frown.

“Rainbow chaser? I have never hear of that term before.”

“You know the type, they think they are going to marry into money and live the lavish lifestyle of the rich and famous.”

“Like my second wife,” Tom replied while shaking his head.

“Well, we are not the first to arrive,” Sophie announced.

In the drive was a van from each of the television stations in the area. This was sure to give them exposure they did not desire. 

 ***********************

I want to share another opportunity for those of you who love writing flash fiction. Red Dyer and Redmund Productions offer a quarterly publication that gathers 250 flash fiction stories according to a specific theme and set of words during a thirteen week time period. Right now is the fall session and several words are already in play. There is still over a month to go with this, so hop on over and try your hand: http://mommasmoneymatters.com/flash-fiction/

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trifecta-Week Ninety-Five – Rainbow

  1. Noel says:

    Hi there! This is my first comkent here so I just
    wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy
    reading your blog posts. Can you suggest anyy other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same topics? Appreciate it!

  2. You have got superb stuff on this site.

  3. It was definitely the gopher. He’s a wily one. Thanks for linking up!

  4. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Rainbow chaser… hahaha.

  5. Draug419 says:

    Maybe they can sneak in through a back door…

  6. jannatwrites says:

    I like rainbow chaser, too. I know that type, and I can relate to Sophie’s opinion 🙂 Oh, and the media? That’s never good. Welcome to the circus!

  7. MOV says:

    I really like this mini-story. Makes me want to read more of it to find out what happens next!

    best,
    MOV

  8. tedstrutz says:

    ‘Rainbow Chaser’… good one, Joe!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

