Astro’s Voice Stand-In – Blog Shorts – Dog Days of Summer #8

Blogdramedy saved me from writing about a pooch I had absolutely no knowledge about when she allowed us the opportunity to substitute Astro, George Jetson’s troubling pooch instead of Wesley Crusher’s Blacktoe. To be honest, even though I watched many Star Trek the Next Generation episodes I do not remember ever seeing anything that resembled a dog. Of course I will say i saw a video of Riker not too long ago on Facebook that showed he always threw his leg over a chair before sitting and I never noticed that before either.

Getting to the subject of this post however, I bring you an unknown truth about the Jetson’s pet Astro. Unknown to us outside the industry Astro was actually very well-spoken. So much so he almost did not get the part, but he was so dashing they could not deny him the role.

*******************

“I tested for the part and the dialogue they gave me was atrocious,” Astro said.

“Atrocious?” the reporter said.

“Something Scooby-Doo might say,” Astro replied.

“What was the solution, I mean obviously you got the role.”

“There was this fellow, a young actor who came in and did all the voice-overs. He mastered the dialogue with no trouble. The dubbing was worse than watching a bad Japanese monster movie.”

“They dubbed all your lines?”

“Yes siree!”

“Oh, by the way you said you had a voice actor do your lines?”

“That’s right!”

“What was the name of the actor?”

“Jones, James Earl Jones. I think he did Darth Vader after that.”

********************

astro

Other dogs from the pound.

TOTO

CUJO

LASSIE

FLUFFIE

EDDIE

SNOOPY

FRANK

Other accomplices in the Dog Days of Summer.

Blogdramedy – think of me as the alpha dog

1pointperspective – circus dog (inside joke that’s not so inside if you go over and read his blog)

SteveBetz – in for a Penny, in for a pound (I AM good!)

Jtailele’s Blog – the unknown element

MC’s Whispers – speaks five languages (not including puppy-speak)

Shouts from the Abyss – he knows how to sit up and beg

H.E. Ellis – he likes pithy and, for some reason, Chevy Impalas

Lenore Diane – peanut butter & bananas sandwiches make her day

Fix it or Deal – Amy’s into robots so she building her own mechanical dog

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Astro’s Voice Stand-In – Blog Shorts – Dog Days of Summer #8

  1. Pingback: Goofy Is Not a Dog – Blog Shorts – Dog Days of Summer #9 | Joe's Musings

  2. Amy says:

    I hear that James Earl Jones’ Astro voice-overs where what impressed the Star Wars casting agents.

  3. Pingback: Odie’s Looking For Love – Blog Shorts – Dog Days of Summer #9 | Joe's Musings

  4. stevebetz says:

    Oh! A Star Wars reference in a post originally aimed at Star Trek. Ballsy.

  5. Blogdramedy says:

    Blacktoe was Will Riker’s dog but he’s easily confused with Wesley. 😉

    Great job with the pinch hitter, Astro. And the voice choice…brilliant.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

