Trifecta-Week Eighty-Eight and my 300th post

Monday, the first day of the week. Since it is summer where I live Monday is not the kind of day you want to see on the calendar, because it means returning to work. So what could assuage the anxiety about a Monday? A Trifecta prompt of course.  The answer, as always is the third definition from the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary. If it seems an unusual choice, then the Trifecta folks have done their job. Anyone can write with the usual definition. We are challenged to “think outside the box”.

Oh by the way, this post is also a milestone for me, my 300th post. When I began on WordPress just before Halloween of last year I had no idea what was to come. The experience has been so incredible as i improve my writing and find so much good advice and experiential knowledge of not only blogging, but the writing and publishing process. I have met and become friends with a pack of writers that dazzle me with their talent. I enjoy learning from them as we continue to carve out our place together.

With that said let’s get on to the word for Trifecta Week Eighty-Eight.

BAND (verb)

1: to affix a band to or tie up with a band

2: to finish or decorate with a band

3: to gather together : unite – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.RxkSX1og.dpuf

★★★★★★
The faces around the room held as many reactions as you could imagine. The awful words still hung in the air, as ominous as they sounded when uttered seconds before. Evicted, demolished, replaced, relocated, the kinds of words no one ever wanted to hear. Because it meant your home was going to be removed forever.  “Those damn bureaucrats. They don’t care whose life they disrupt,” Barney declared.“We won’t go,” Lucille said, pounding her walker on the floor.

“We have no choice,” Annabelle said silently. “We are just old castoffs.”

“She is right,” Barney agreed.

“No. We are still Americans. My Harvey did not go overseas to fight for freedom to allow us to be pushed around like this. It is life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. This does not make me happy,” Lucille declared.

“What do you suggest?” Annabelle said as she shifted in her chair.

“We form a group to oppose the eviction. My nephew is one of the best lawyers in this city. I know he could find a way to stop it.”

“You are suggesting we band together to fight the city? To go against the system?” Barney asked.

“We did it fifty years ago,” Lucille said while a sneaking smile curled across her lips.

“We were considerably younger then,” Annabelle assessed.

“So because we are old we should surrender our determination?” Lucille asked.

“Of course not,” Barney answered.

“When my kids find out we are doing this they will have a hemorrhage!” Lucille said while she clapped gleefully.

“We have not agreed we would,” Annabelle reminded her.

“Like we have another choice,” Lucille answered.

“She is right!” Barney said, poking his finger in the air. “We band together or we separate forever!”

Lucille extended her hand toward the other two, her palm down, waiting for a similar response. Barney added his hand to hers and they turned to Annabelle. Always more timid, it took some effort for her to respond, but with a mischievous smile she did. 

***********************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Trifecta-Week Eighty-Eight and my 300th post

  1. barbara says:

    my grandmother was a “gray panther” back in the day (60’s).Now I am that age . . . and shout with the best . . . power to the people!!! 🙂 Well captured

  2. Ashley K says:

    Cute story! Congrats on 300!

  3. Sweet to think they’re still together, in body and spirit.
    Congratulations on 300!

  4. Good for them! I like when elderly people have a little fire.
    Loved this line especially: We band together or we separate forever!

  5. Bryan Ens says:

    Great post. Hope they win! And congrats on your 300th post!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

