10 Questions with Blogdramedy, hostess of Blog Shorts 2013 – The Dog Days of Summer

On Thursday August 1st a friend of mine and fellow blogger named Blogdramedy will begin a ten day blog challenge called Blog Shorts – The Dog Days of Summer. It is a challenge to write ten 110 word short fiction pieces about nine famous dogs and one about whatever dog you choose. I met up with Blogdramedy when I first joined WordPress last fall and she quickly became one of my favorite bloggers. I was so excited to take part in the Blog Festivus 2012, her Christmas themed challenge where the nine reindeer were the subjects of the posts. In conversations with her I discovered she also did a summer version, so I wanted to help promote it to find any willing victims volunteers to join the fun.
As an
Asextension I wanted to give Blogdramedy (the name given when she went into blog protection) a chance to share a few tidbits about her and her blog.
1) Where did the idea come from to do the challenges?
A blogging buddy of mine introduced me to Friday Drabbles. Drabbles are short stories of 100 words. Exactly 100. I loved the challenge of seeing if I could write a complete fictional story of that length. I’d never written fiction up until that point. Then I had the idea of writing even shorter fiction…just to see if it was possible. That’s when I came up with BlogShorts. It was one of those unexplainable “ah-ha” moments and the title was just there. In a moment. When that happens, you go with it. The first BlogShorts was 30 words, 30 days, 30 short stories. I had a comment or two saying that wasn’t possible. If you go back and read the posts from the participants, you’ll see it was more than possible. It was fabulously possible.
BlogFestivus was a direct result of me watching reruns of Seinfeld…the one about George’s Dad promoting “a festivus for the rest of us.” I thought it could fly as a writing challenge. The first year, the theme was the 12 Days of Christmas. It was a blast. Last December, we wrote about Santa’s reindeer and I think we all had great fun unwrapping that theme.
2) Do many people take part?
I’d say about 10 or so. Usually the same core group of bloggers with the occasional new comer. I like to encourage them to read and comment on the other blogs so I’m not sure if that would work if the list got into the hundreds. I’d have to come up with another way for them to blog hop that didn’t leave them totally stressed.
3) How long have you been blogging?
Since August 25, 2010. I have an anniversary coming up! I’m thinking of having a blog party…details to come.
4) Is your life really this interesting or do you mix in some fiction? 
That’s a nice way to say it…interesting. I’d be more inclined to say…stranger than fiction. Everything I write is based on a true story. That’s usually where the best humor is found. Even for my short fiction, I can usually find some connection to my life. It’s the only way I can write.
5) Where do you live?
I live in a little bungalow on the bay outside a little town in Canada. When I’m not here, I’m on the road. I live for road trips.
6) Where is your dream home?
On a small island in the Bahamas. *sigh* I spent three years sailing around the islands with the Mister and it was a dream come true. There is no water anywhere that particular shade of turquoise. It’s the only time I ever wished I’d married for money.
7) What do you want people to remember about you?
That I always had a witty come-back…at least in my own mind. And that my favorite form of punctuation was the ellipsis…
8) Unlimited money, what would you do?
Ensure every child, everywhere, access to good, comprehensive education. It’s the only way to promote compassion and understanding of others.
After that was done, I’d retire to my private island and hold amazing beach parties and learn how to play boogie on the piano.
9) The beach or the ski lodge, and why?
I think you may have twigged to the answer by now. The beach. I love snow but hate being cold. Walking around with my shoulders hunched up around my ears…it just makes me cranky and you don’t want me cranky.
10) Will you do another Christmas time blog challenge?
Is there not a Santa Claus? Oh. Right. Can I change that answer? Yes, expect BlogFestivus to return in 2014. I think I’m going to alternate years with BlogShorts. I already have the theme…but you’ll have to wait for Christmas to open that box.
If you want to share in this fun you can still add your name to the list. Follow the link to Blog Shorts 2013 – Dog Days of Summer 
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 10 Questions with Blogdramedy, hostess of Blog Shorts 2013 – The Dog Days of Summer

  1. “It’s the only time I ever wished I’d married for money”. LOVE THAT! I’ve had more than my share of times I wished I had married for $$$. Great interview. I love reading Blogdramedy’s posts. 🙂

  2. shoutabyss says:

    I only read this post for the interview. Not the centerfold.

  3. You got me with the Bahamas! If you weren’t already married to the Mister I would tell you the secret of how to live there.

  4. I use ellipses so much I’m concerned that I will use up my lifetime quota…

  5. Pingback: If it was 1963, this would have been easy | blogdramedy

  6. Pingback: Trifextra – Week Seventy-Eight – Color | Joe's Musings

  7. Blogdramedy says:

    Hi Joe! Love this. It’s going to be interesting to see what you come up with starting next Thursday. THURSDAY! Yikes. 🙂

    If it’s okay, I’m going to post a link from my blog to yours instead of leaving the interview in my comment section. It might get lost and I’d like to send people your way.

    Blog on,
    BD

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

