Daily Prompt – The Stat Connection – 22nd July

The daily prompt for July 22nd asks us to look at the most popular posts and try to understand the connection. What drew the readers to this particular subset of posts? See if we can determine what might interest them. I have not done a Daily post for a while, so I thought this could be one to try. Below is a screenshot of the top blog posts since I began blogging at the end of october 2012.

top5

I will exclude Home page /Archives since it really tells you nothing about what people might have read when they visited. About Joe I think is self-explanatory as people want to see what the author says about himself.  I am also excluding “Help Me Decide Which Story to Expand”, because I made it a page. Interestingly, though, I will say that I added a poll on this to ask people which of four short fiction pieces I wrote should be expanded. Out of 200 views I got about 10 responses. It seems while everyone has an opinion, very few stick around long enough to register it.

1) Write A Fiction . . . (Edited for brevity) – This was a thriteen part multi-blogger project. Over time we developed somewhat of a following and I expect the views were due to that as well as the coordinated promotion we did. It was a fiction story, so definitely intended for entertainment purposes. People like a good story and I think this one was interesting, especially with all the differnt twists and turns that came with unique voices.

2) Best Annuals . . . – This is an informational post about the best flowers to put in hanging baskets. With several years experience as a greenhouse owner I got the experiential wisdom to back up my recommendations. It also does not hurt that I selected an oft searched phrase.

3, 4 & 5) Friday Fictioneers – This is a weekly challenge to write a 100 word or less story according to a photo prompt. It has been consistently one of my highest viewed posts.

So what do i think links these? Mostly it is the fiction writing except for number 2. People seek entertainment online and anything that is not fiction or lighter fare is not going to pull in the eyeballs. I myself do not read as many news, political or serious posts. While I am likely not the norm I am certainly not alone. I will check out some more of these posts to see what others say about the subject.

  1. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | flow of my soul
  2. Statistical Connections | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  3. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | suzie81’s Blog
  4. Small Windows | Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | likereadingontrains
  5. I Have Dreams About Stats. And Nightmares! | Black and White Heart
  6. The key to success | Sue’s Trifles
  7. Obvious Connections | clarior e tenebris
  8. The Stat Connection | Geek Ergo Sum
  9. To Write A Blog Post | Lewis Cave
  10. Hi there | Relax…
  11. Whoring Statistics | My Beautiful Breakdown
  12. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection > Elementary, My Dear Watson | From Ground to Home
  13. What Makes A Good Blog Post – Or Not? | The Jittery Goat
  14. Stats | Hope* the happy hugger
  15. Connection | windandlaughter
  16. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | MyBlog – solaner
  17. The Stat Connection | Icezine
  18. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection « Mama Bear Musings
  19. Stat Check | unknowinglee
  20. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  21. Daily Prompt; The Stat Connection | terry1954
  22. Pardon Me Mr. Letterman, But I shall Do a Top Five List | meanderedwanderings
  23. My top posts | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  24. Tapping into the energy | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  25. What Do Hoaxes, Poetry, and Weed Have in Common? | The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King
  26. Bonds… | Haiku By Ku
  27. The Cousin Connection | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  28. What makes it popular? The Stat Connection | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  29. If it’s written, it’s meant to be read – 4th installment |
  30. Searching for Key to Popular Posts | Iam Who Iam
  31. One Year Flying « Fly for Icarus
  32. Daily Prompt: Breaking Down The Stats | Creative Mysteries
  33. Daily Prompt: My stats are unrelated | My Daily Prompt Blog
  34. Daily Prompt: Connections | Postcards from
  35. Daily Post: Partying, Flattery and a Visit from the Grim Reaper | The Whimsical Circumlocutor
  36. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection – How to make friends and influence people | SERENDIPITY
  37. A good headline and people’s kindness | Life is great
  38. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | It’s my blog, innit…
  39. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Ruminations from an Introvert
  40. Daily Prompt: See the connection? | My Endless Rants & Ramblings
  41. 100th post | The Magic Black Book
  42. The Success Connection | Rein Rant N’ Rave
  43. Hamburglar! Hamburglar! Hamburglar! | The Cutter Rambles
  44. Birthday Greetings To . . . ME! | Spirit Lights The Way
  45. The Stat Connection | The Nameless One
  46. The Stat Connection: Connections | Khana’s Web
  47. My Stats Don’t Lie | djgarcia94
  48. Daily Prompt: About Mrs. Robinson’s Wrong Door | One Starving Activist
  49. Stats, baby, stats. | LauGraEva
  50. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Faerie Thoughts
  51. Aside 32: No Surprises | Excerpts from the Life of RDZ
  52. Daily Prompt – Kindness in a State | Create & Motivate!
  53. Making the Connection with you | Dancing in the rain!
  54. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Purple 7 Paper
  55. Is it all in the numbers? | Valley Girl Gone Country
  56. Making the Connection | Breathing Space
  57. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection « The Blogging Path
  58. Irony at its finest | Right The Writer
  59. Connections | Hekau: Words of Power
  60. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection ~ What People Read on the Blog | In Da Campo
  61. How To Utilize Blog Stats! | Joseph Rathjen – Freelance Writing Services and Blog
  62. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | To Breathe is to Write
  63. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Just Like No One Else
  64. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Ramblings of a jerk
  65. Daily Prompt: The Status Quo | cinnwriterblog
  66. That’s A Good Title | mycookinglifebypatty
  67. Apart-ness | loveletterstoaghost
  68. 22 July Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | family photos food & craft
  69. Dream Connections and Then Some | Resident Alien — Being Dutch in America
  70. Daily Post: “Connecting” Heaven to Earth | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  71. Day 203: My Top Blog Posts | 365 Days of Thanks
  72. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | New Lease–Same Hope
  73. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Under the Monkey Tree
  74. Stat page virgin | writemybrainsout
  75. Make The Connection | Edward Hotspur
  76. Daily prompt: the stats connection | Empressnasigoreng’s Blog
  77. Connecting Bytes | theeyelife
  78. Listen Up, World | Wiley’s Wisdom
  79. “I’ve been thinking about suicide lately…” | PROOF OF GOD! …and other tragedies.
  80. Common Threads | My Author-itis
  81. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Retired2Travel
  82. Grab Your Box Of Tissues… | All Those Small Things
  83. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Moonlight Reflections
  84. Da Ping Huo: Awesome Sichuan cuisine in Hong Kong | Kan Walk Will Travel
  85. Day Two | dayswithoutbooboo’s Blog
  86. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Your Daily Dose
  87. Daily Prompt: Connection | More than a Cat
  88. 22 July Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Family, Photos, Food and Craft
  89. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Jake Kuyser
  90. Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Natasha’s Memory Garden
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt – The Stat Connection – 22nd July

  1. Pingback: The key to success | Sue's Trifles

  2. Heather G says:

    Must wonder how many people read entire posts or simply scan them?? How much time is spent on each page??? I know a lot of people read items, but don’t respond. They lack the comfort level. Can’t do much about that.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

