Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 7th July 2013 – The Girl Talisman

Finally I get in on this prompt, almost seven days into the mix, but still in time. I met Alastair through Friday fictioneers and only recently saw this prompt and wanted to be a part. So here is my first entry, titled – The Girl Talisman. http://alastairsphotofiction.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/photo-fiction-sunday-july-7th-2013/

copyright Alistair Forbes

James couldn’t believe he was gullible enough to part with $495 dollars. If he had something worth that it would be different, but he did not. Instead he had this sill looking picec of whatever somewhat resembling a girl.

He knew he’d channeled the experience of that movie when he was a teen where Kelly LeBrock was created using a Barbie Doll**. If only he could be so lucky.

“Well, I might as well get it over with!” he exclaimed to the graven object.

“Mukulu diala buno bunga elcanga huhaho!” he said, reading the words that accompanied his purchase.

He stood silently as a couple of minutes passed, then he shook his head.

“I hoped a good looking man would free me this time,” he heard behind him.

When he turned he saw a goddess from the islands. “Best $495 I ever spent!” he smiled.

++++++++++++++++++++++

** The movie I referenced was made in 1985 and starred Kelly LeBrock, Anthony Michael hall and Ilan Mitchell-Smith. I included the trailer if you are interested.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Alastair's photo Challenge, Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 7th July 2013 – The Girl Talisman

  1. julespaige says:

    I am always wary of magical people… once freed.
    Hopefully James has some good luck with his fortune 🙂
    Nice to see you here at Alastair’s Photo Fiction!

  2. Gabriella says:

    Welcome to this meme! A lovely first entry.

  3. Alastair says:

    I loved the film Weird Science. When I read that bit, I envisioned her leaning on the door jamb 😀

    Thanks for this story Joe, it is excellent. Definitely worth $495

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

