ROW 80 – RD 3 Sunday Check-in – 7th July

Another ROW 80 is under way, the third of 2013. This is something I listed within the usual things I like to post in my weekly blogging. The biggest reason is due to the premise. You are asked to set defined goals and then report progress. Think of it like an accountability group. I have heard of those for several years but never went far enough to become a part. I think having the encouragement is important for writers. I love encouraging others. It is just something I receive pleasure in doing.

So what are my goals for this round? Some of the goals are left over from the second round, but that is okay because they are some big goals.

  1. Finish the major edit of my new Work in Progress. When I finished the first draft in January I rushed, trying to get something worth submitting to the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. As it turned out, my pitch was not compelling enough to keep me in the running. Thank God, because my manuscript was a wreck. My critique partner, my wife, gave me a lot of feedback and I am taking a hard look and editing away on the manuscript. My goal is to finish the edit during this round. Currently I have 25,000 edited out of 82,000. But It originally was 95,000 words. Part of the difference is editing out non-essential characters.
  2. Set up a group of four Beta readers for the Work in Progress. I had the pleasure of meeting a now recently published author named Heather Greenis who just released her first n=book, Natasha’a Dream. I got to read her book and actually finished the advance copy the same day it was released. It was a great chance to help her find some things others had missed. I hope the Beta readers I gather will do the same for me.
  3. Find an editor that can bring my Work In Progress home. A follow on to this goal is to develop the pitch for my book. I have toyed with putting four on a post with a poll, but in the past I have gotten a very low response from a poll.
  4. Outline the trilogy bubbling inside my head. I think this could be a really solid three book story. It is all I can do not to drop my WIP and spend all my time on this project. There is also another idea that is snatching a few moments here and there.
  5. In August a friend, Blogramedy, is hosting a ten day challenge where you write 110 words according to the theme Dog Days of Summer. I am a veteran of one other of her challenges, Blog Festivus 2012 and it was so much fun I had to sign up again.
  6. Recently I completed a collaborative fiction story with eleven other bloggers. We each took a chapter and put together a thirteen part story (I did two, that’s how the math works) and now I am going to do it again with Josh Magill, one of the others as he does a 13 part, but with a 100 word limit. He is still recruiting if you feel this is something of interest.
  7. At the risk of setting too many goals, I want to continue to build my brand. I have found some good Facebook groups geared toward writers. Truthfully the only way to know which are good is to join and monitor the discussion and opportunity to build friendships with others. Some have advice to share, some are just places for people to promote their books.

If you don’t have defined goals, maybe you can hop aboard the train while it is just leaving the station and share your goals with us. I like to see how others go about their process. I look forward to the others and invite you to ask me how I am doing on mine.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ROW 80 – RD 3 Sunday Check-in – 7th July

  1. Pingback: A Time of Quiet: ROW80 Update, 7/10/13 | shanjeniah

  2. shanjeniah says:

    These are big meaty goals…and I love reading posts by others who like many things to sink their teeth into!

    I have a list of long-term goals for Rounds 2 and 3, and from these I’m making weekly smaller steps toward the big guys. That works well for me.

    Just curious, though – is your WIP really 95,000 pages, or did you mean words? That is a LOT of pages!

    I tend to give my plot tribbles room to play. Very often, they show me when I need a little time and space between me and my current WIP. I always return, and the story is always better for the time away.

    I also don’t have a problem editing one WIP while writing another, but I know many people do.

    Like you, i am fascinated in how others do what they do!

    Eager to see where you go from here!

  3. Heather Greenis says:

    Hi Joe Thanks for mentioning me.  I appreciate it! If you can fix errors on your blog… Take a look at number 4.  You’re missing a word  It is all I can do to drop my WIP 

    Stay focused my friend. Lots of time for other projects once you submit! Do you have specific publishers in mind once you’re ready?  Do you know when they are open to submission? Some open for three months and close for three months!   Heather Greenis > > >Natasha’s Dream >Natasha’s Diary – launching December 2013 > >Natasha’s Hope – launching March 2014 > >Natasha’s Legacy – submitted for consideration > >ebook available to purchase at > >MuseitUp Publishing   Kobo    >at the iTunes store >Amazon.ca   Amazon.com  Amazon.uk > Barnes and Noble post a review on Goodreads

    ________________________________

  4. Heather G says:

    Ah, setting goals. Always a positive thing

  5. Josh Magill says:

    All very great goals. Many of mine are similar. Thanks for discussing our 100 word “chapters” short story project. I’m excited to see it come to fruition.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

