Blogging Schedule

I am now over 250 posts into my blogging experience with WordPress and find that with time I have developed a pretty steady blogging schedule. It helps to have a recurring prompt to rely on sometimes. I expect it would be easy to snatch a headline from the newspaper or television to form a post; there were several concerning the Miami Heat’s repeat championship. But one thing I learned with my first forays of writing at Helium and Hubpages is that an evergreen post is best.

Blogging Sked

You know what I mean by evergreen, just like the tree, the post is always pertinent. The internet is a wonderful thing, giving you access to the world in an instant. This means a couple of things: (1) Anyone in the world that logs into WordPress can see your post if you title and tag it in a way to hit their interest. (2) Anyone else who publishes a post is vying for the same set of eyeballs you are. If you have a topic that only draws attention for a week or two in the year it hardly seems worth the effort.

Now I do have a set of articles I wrote for hubpages that only get attention in the 30-45 days preceding Christmas. But, since Hubpages has a system of monetizing your exposure, I have collected a couple of hundred dollars over three years with this small set of hubs specifically geared to the holidays. All in all, I would rather have posts that will be relevant at any time.

My current blogging schedule provides five opportunities fir standing prompts, with two days for wildcards as I deem them, topics that catch my attention and seem worth of attention.

  • SUNDAY – There is a prompt called ROW80 where a group of writers compose and share a list of goals they intend to accomplish during one of four 80 day rounds associated with their program. There are two chances each week during the round to update their progress on the goals. This link to join when the next round starts: ROW80
  • Another Sunday prompt I sometimes follow is the Sunday Snippets Blog Hop by Jennifer Eaton. In this hop you can post 250 words of your current WIP for critiques by other hop participants. Find her here: Jennifer
  • The latest Sunday prompt I discovered is a photo prompt managed by one of the other Friday Fictioneers Alastair Forbes. It is called Alastair’s Phot Fiction. You can follow this link: APF
  • MONDAY – Trifecta Challenge – Trifecta offers a prompt each Monday morning where you are expected to use the third definition from the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary. The word may be familiar, but sometimes the third level definition may not be so common.
  • TUESDAY – The first wildcard.
  • WEDNESDAY – Friday Fictioneers. Led by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields the group of 100 or so writers that collect take a simple photo prompt and craft either a poem or prose response with only 100 words.
  • THURSDAY – The second wildcard.
  • FRIDAY – Trifextra – The weekend edition of Trifecta challenge, this is another attempt at a flash fiction piece of work, usually with a limit of 33 words. The economy of words means you really have to pay attention to what you write.
  • SATURDAY – Weekly Photo Challenge – Even though this actually posts on Friday, since I have joined up on the Trifextra challenge I have moved this item to Saturday. As you can guess by the title each week the gurus at WordPress settle on a theme and ask us to provide our response. I love pictures, both from the perspective of taking them and viewing, so this is a great opportunity.

Do you have a blogging schedule or do you just post on the fly? I would like to hear about it. I have been fortunate to find new challenges such as the April A to Z blogging challenge where I posted a topic based on a letter of the alphabet. It was during this challenge that I met some new bloggers on WordPress and some from another blog platforms.

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogging Schedule

  1. Pingback: Back to Ireland | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. ARK says:

    I usually get inspired by bloggers like you, Sakshi etc and then just write occassionally. Due to hectic schedule of my work these days i just postpone blogging…

  3. Awesome organization! I do things more one the go but I always schedule my posts to go up at 7am or 4pm. Sometimes, I toss it in at 12pm if I don’t manage to wrap up the morning post the night before. But in general, my schedule has a few set features with Monday afternoon being the weekly workout roundups; Monday/Tuesday mornings I stick with baking posts, By Wednesday, I try to have my Weekly Photo Challenge up. On Saturdays, I do my personal post for the weekend activities, etc. Everything else in between is by how it flows in my schedule since sometimes, I finish a book during that week or I watch more or less movies or I go see one at the theatres. The A Word A Week Photo Challenge is more on the fly also, but I try to get it up by Thursday usually! I guess I work with timeframes more than fixed schedules 😉
    Great post Joe!

    • Joe Owens says:

      I did not really think about how it fell into place. After I returned from the cruise vacation I had moments of real clarity with it and saw the schedule.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

