The Monster’s Secret – Friday Fictioneers – June 28th

This was taken from the cruise ship as we spent our last day at sea heading back to Florida.

This was taken from the cruise ship as we spent our last day at sea heading back to Florida.

Thank God I am not stuck on a stinking bus (figuratively stinking because of 14 hour ride) this week, trying to put together my Friday Fictioneers offering. You may not believe me, but trying to do it with the bus Wi-Fi and a Kindle Fire was a whole lot like trying to stuff an elephant through a straw. Now, before you make me out to be a whiner, I will say that the picture I posted to start this made it all worthwhile. I don’t think I have ever seen water so blue as I did sailing through the caribbean last week.

But I digress, on to the prompt. For you who are uninitiated welcome aboard. This is a chance to open up your imagination and take it for a spin. With Rochell Wisof-Fields as your tour hostes you are likely to receive a photo prompt of anything and the chance to leave your impression in the form of 100 words. The panalty for exceeding this mark? Bascally just your feeling of unnecessary shame for not being able to pull it off.

I actually saw this photo first when I read David Stewart’s FF offering. By the way, David’s turn is coming on our Baker’s Dozen Fiction project and I must say if you love David’s writing you don’t want to miss it. You can read it here. I wasn’t sure if it was the right picture because it is early here (6 AM) and I am not entirely in focus myself. But right away I came up with the idea for this. I hope you enjoy. Oh, and the housekeeping, this photo is copyright Indira by way of Scott Vanatter.

copyright – Indira by way of Scott Vanatter

Genre- Fiction  100 words)

“How do you know it is?”

“Good grief man, look at this!” he said proffering the proof as he fought to catch his breath.

“Why’s it like this?”

“Excuse me for not taking time to get the killer’s van in focus!”

“Did you see a gun?”

“No, but I saw the camera.”

“What about the logo?”

“Like I am stupid enough to let them know we can read. Do you know what that would do to our legend?”

“Nessie can read, so can the Abominable. It would be good for our image.”

“I can see it now “Bigfoot can read!”

*********************************************

friday-fictioneers

 

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Friday Fictioneers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Monster’s Secret – Friday Fictioneers – June 28th

  1. elmowrites says:

    The penalty for going over 100 words is occasionally I will catch you out and suggest which ones to remove. No such fun for me this week, Joe! I like how you flip the mythical creature idea around for this one!

  2. How cute, As a lover of Monster movies, this one really resonated with me. Good job.

  3. Nice twist. Didn’t see it coming.

  4. Ha, love that – Bigfoot can read indeed 🙂

  5. AnElephant can tell you that Nessie is a member of the Inverness Library.
    Very funny story.

  6. Great take on the photo. It didn’t occur to me, but now you mention it the photo does look a lot like those blurred shots of mythic monsters. And “Bigfoot can read” 😀

  7. zookyworld says:

    Bigfoot can read!! A fun take on the photo.

  8. Dear Joe,

    Now there’s a different take. Maybe that’s why Big Foot’s so illusive. He can read and wants nothing to do with humans. 😉 Good one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

