Sleeper – Friday Fictioneer – 21 June

Today I am on a tour bus riding 14 hours from the cruise ship to my home in the mountains of Virginia. I still plan to add my Friday Fictioneers response. Unfortunately I am limited to my Kindle Fire and can not add the picture. Here is my response:

copyright - Managua Gunn

copyright – Managua Gunn

***************
For six years she wore the wretched uniform of her enemy. She lived with them. Slept with them. Ate with them.

In a few short hours she would die with them. They thought she was one of them. She allowed them to disparage his country. To speak blasphemy. All because her time for revenge was near. She would be a hero in her country.

She tensed when a whisper resulted in angry eyes. The time was now! She had to reach the detonator.

Angry shouts filled the air, gunfire then silence.

Her lover searched for her dog tags. A hero deserves more.

EDIT: As I said too many times I was traveling back from a cruise yesterday and trying to do anything with just a smart phone and Kindle Fire is much more challenging than a full blown laptop. As I read more responses to the prompt I came to see the guard in the picture represents the fairer sex. Accordingly I have edited my story in that direction. 

friday-fictioneers

If you wish to see the other responses to the prompt you can follow Sir Linky below.



About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sleeper – Friday Fictioneer – 21 June

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Joe,

    Dire Straits said it best…”We’re fools to make war on our brother’s in arms.”
    Great story, Kindle and bus notwithstanding.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Well written.. and a sad story..

  3. rgayer55 says:

    Reminded me of a story I read where a female German spy was embedded in England five years before WWII. Excellent piece, Joe.

  4. Sarah Ann says:

    Very powereful, Joe. So well written.

  5. Dear Joe,

    Your story pierces the heart. Thank you.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

