ROW80 – Check-in 16th of June – Time to Reboot

Another Sunday rolls around and I decided to do my best to stay with at least a weekly check in for my ROW80 goals. It is a form of accountability for my writing that is also fun. I have met a lot of new people over the last few weeks and enjoy getting to know them and hear about their blogging, writing and publishing experiences. There is so much opportunity to gain from other’s knowledge and experience to limit the mistakes and delays associated with doing everything without experience.

On the Work In Progress edit of The Family Secrets I made great headway this week. As I shared last week I decided to keep it in the third person so I am simply editing out the extra family members from the first chance that really did little to advance the plot. I originally set my goal for rewriting the manuscript to be complete by August 1st. in order to do that I would have to finish about 1,000 words per day. As of today I am at 18.000 words, so I am a bit ahead.

In a post published on the 13th I share some new places to submit Flash Fiction as well as a Facebook group I discovered. If you would like to read more you can follow this link. Also I found a page on the Flash Fiction Chronicles of several Flash Fiction markets. You can follow this link to it. Since I joined the Friday Fictioneers shortly after coming to WordPress I have made several friends and enjoy this short form.

Another major project is nearing an end. Back in the early spring I invited twelve others to join me in creating a multi-part collaborative fictional short story. I began the adventure and handed off on a five-day interval. In all there is thirteen chapters, hence our group name the Baker’s Dozen. As it turns out one of our contributors dropped out and the other members of the group elected me as the one to close out the effort at the end of this month. If you have not heard of this project and would like to catch up you can find it at The Baker’s Dozen Fiction Story.

Another goal is to outline a new idea I have for a potential trilogy. I am still mentally mulling this and have not put anything into an organized form so far. I am getting a more mental picture of how it will all come together. To this end I am trying to assemble a list of possible publishers to send a query to for the book’s genre. If anyone has any suggestions I am happy to listen.

As you read this I am enjoying some much-needed time away from the computer and blogging, thus the title of my post. I hope some time away will reinvigorate my posting ideas. I enjoy interacting with the readers I have attracted, but know there is always room for improvement. This is another reason for the ROW80 connection as you guys seem to be pretty organized and are so supportive. Thanks for welcoming me into your collaborative and making me inspired to set and keep my goals!

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

