ROW80 – Check In #63 – June 2nd

Wow the time sure flies when you’re having fun. Here we are starting the sixth month of the year and I have basically just been posturing about making progress on getting my  manuscript ready for submission to an agent. I am sure I am not alone in this act as many of us have very good intentions but life gets in the way. Well I am sorry to leave this fraternity, but I have decided to devote the next 60-90 days to concentrating on rewriting my manuscript.

I actually have had this underway for a couple of years. The thing is I first wrote it as a multi-part serial on another blogging site. Writing it that way was quite different than writing as one long piece. I wrote it from thrid person point of view, which is the most comfortable for me. Now I am rewriting from first person, something I have never done.

My goal is to write at least 1,000 words each day. Now before you roll your eyes and declare I have gone mad, I have a 95,000 word manuscript I will work from. Some of the original text will be scrapped, but much of it, especially the interaction between the two MCs will just have to be tweaked a bit. All in all I think the goal is easily reachable. In fact, just yesterday i managed 1,650 words on the first day of my rewrite.

On another project, the Baker’s Dozen Fiction Story we recently added our seventh chapter by a fantastic writer named Jennifer Pendergast. She blogs at Elmo Writes. She threw another twist in to the story which we all know is a great way to toy with your reader’s emotions and usually draw then in deeper as they invest their feelings for the characters. I really enjoy this project and no i will miss it when we complete the project at the end of this month. I am already considering another effort aimed at the November-December time frame. I even have a general plot lined up.

I look forward to reading other check in posts to get a feel what my peers are writing about.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ROW80 – Check In #63 – June 2nd

  1. Sarah Ann says:

    Good luck with the re-write Joe. Going from third to first person sounds like quite of a job to me. 🙂

  2. katemsparkes says:

    I hope your re-write goes well! I know how hard it can be do that, but it sounds like you have a good, workable plan there. 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

