The Murder Frock – Friday Fictioneers – May 31st

Welcome to the last Friday Fictioneers of May! Rochelle Wisoff-Fields heads up our crew as we take part in a group activity where an unknown photo prompt will elicit as many as 100 different responses, usually fictitious, but always entertaining. This will be my twenty-fourth time taking the visual prompt and crafting an accompanying tale.

I have made many friends over the time with the Fictioneers. I even convinced a few of my friends to join a project to collaborate on a fiction story. For the months of May and June we are putting together a thirteen part fiction short story. If you love fiction you will want to check out this project. You can do so by following this link Bakers Dozen Fiction Story. Among the culprits you will see regular Fictioneers such as Ted Strutz, Jennifer Pendergast, Leslie Moon, David Stewart and yours truly.

copyright - Janet Webb

copyright – Janet Webb

Janet Webb is the photo source for this week’s adventure. Thanks Janet, your photo inspired a different thought about my continuing serial.

Due to a popular requests I am keeping Detective Sophie Marcus as my main character for these weekly photo adventures. In previous installments Sophie is brought in to investigate a murder at a writing conference. You can catch up by reading “The Hornet Chronicles“,”Not the Usual Suspects“,  “You Be Mine, I’ll Be Yours” , “The Non-Existent Alibis“,  “Guilty!” and What About Tom?.

(Genre: Crime Fiction) ( 100 words)

 ***************************************************************************************************************************

E.L. Appleby sat silently, her eyes fixed on the photo.

“Ms. Appleby!” Sophie said. Appleby jumped in the chair, seemingly lost in whatever thoughts the picture brought.

“Is this a photo of your apartment building?”

“Yes.”

“The dress hanging is yours?”

Appleby remained silent, still staring at the photo.

“Ms. Appleby this is the same dress found on Karen Kelly at the crime scene!”

Appleby blinked several times, but still remained silent.

“Silence is not your friend,” Sophie barked.

“Where did you get this?”

“A murder investigation gives me lots of latitude.”

“I’m being framed,” Appleby said.

“By whom?”

“Stewie!”

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>



friday-fictioneers

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Murder Frock – Friday Fictioneers – May 31st

  1. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers: The Gift | Alastair's Blog

  2. Pingback: A Murderer Revealed – Friday Fictioneers – June 7 | Joe's Musings

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    Love the way you brought the dress in. Looking forward to next week.

  4. neenslewy says:

    Sounds like a fab project – will have to check out the Baker’s Dozen –
    as for the next instalment flash – a creative way to use the dress… the plot thickens.

  5. nightlake says:

    interesting how you connected the dress to the series

  6. troy P. says:

    The dialogue was tight and spot on. Nice!

  7. elappleby says:

    I am being framed! I just read last week’s – great suspenseful ending. Then this week you set me up!
    It was obviously Stewie- he’s much more likely to wear a dress than me. I’m strictly a jeans and tshirt girl 😀

  8. Stewie! Oh, no, is Sophie Marcus a match for Seth McFarlane?!

  9. Pingback: Charlotte’s Dream | Lily Mugford

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

