ROW80 – Midweek check in May 29th

  • We have 4 rounds a year, each running 80 days.  
  • Your goal can be anything you like as long as it is measurable (e.g. number of words/pages, specified amount of time to spend on writing per day/week, number of pages edited, etc.–for more on what makes a measurable goal, see this post).
  • Once you have settled on a goal, you write it up on your blog (yes, you must have one) and link to it on the Goals Linky for the Round, which will be posted on the ROW80 Blog.

I have wanted to take part in the ROW80, but really have not taken the time to form some intermediate or long term goals. All that changed recently and now I think i can be an equal partner with those of you who do this on a regular basis. I have sampled a few of the posts from regular ROW80 participants so that I have a feel for the process. Without further ado, let’s get to it.

As with many writers, my ultimate goals are publication. But that is a process and there is not enough time or space to detail all that goes into making that happen. So instead how about I discuss what I think is going right in the process. You can see how I am approaching the challenge of making my place in the world of writers and authors.

Have you read anything by Kristen Lamb? If not I want to recommend her blog which is simply Kristen Lamb’s Blog. Yesterday she had a fantastic post about how you must work daily to develop your platform and identity as a writer. I have gained so much since I joined WordPress and feel very confident about my progress. People like kristen help motivate others and give great advice.

So getting back to the given purpose of the ROW80 let me lay out my goals. I am in the midst of an eight week blogging challenge in which I invited others to craft a fiction story with me. It is called the Baker’s Dozen Fiction Story. The sixth chapter posted Sunday and the seventh comes this Friday. I invite you to check it out here. I have loved this experience and would like to do another later this year, possibly with a Chirstmas theme. I find it a great way to develop personal relationships with other bloggers.

Just after the first of the year I added a 2013 writing goals post. In that I chose to focus some of my energy on writing contests. My goal was to enter at least twelve contests, or one each month. As the fifth month of the year comes to a close I can report progress beyond my goal as I have eight entries to my credit. So far I have had no success as far as claiming a first or second prize, but as with publishing I understand it is a process and there is tons of competition.

With six months left in this year I have laid out two solid goals I will concentrate on with my writing. One is to whip the current WIP into a form I can submit to an agent. The other is to flesh out a potential trilogy worthy Young Adult story and see how close I can come to finishing a first draft of the first book. It may be ambitious, but without a target, how can I make the shot?

Another goal is to continue to develop the audience for my blog, Joe’s Musings. I am regularly blessed to have 100 visits each day. This is extremely gratifying as it signifies to me what I choose to blog about is interesting enough to bring people back for more. On top of that I get to read inspiring posts from others that have become my writing buddies.

Some people set out a goal to write so many words in six months or a year. I would rather add information worth reading than hold myself to a word limit. If a post is stuffed with words and no direction, then who will care to read it? Time is a fleeting thing and the last thing I want to do is waste my readers time.

Ok all you regular ROW80 folks, let me know if I pass the smell test. I will be banging around in your posts to learn how to do it right.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ROW80 – Midweek check in May 29th

  1. Eden says:

    Joe, you passed the “smell test” as soon as you decided you were going to write and submit at least eight stories this year (a 2 per ROWnd average). Of course a lot of us take a bit of time before we jump in…

    I think your goals are good solid ones. Welcome to the ROW80. Glad to have you on board… here’s your oar.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

