Weekly Photo Challenge – In the Background

Weekly Photo Challenge – In the Background : The places that we pass through day after day, or even once in a lifetime, leave in their small way, echoes and traces of themselves upon us. But so often when taking self portraits or pictures of friends, the places themselves become a soft blurred mush of indistinct semi-nothingness, the limelight stolen by our smiling faces. In today’s challenge, let’s turn the tables. Take a picture of yourself or someone else as a shadow, a reflection, or a lesser part of a scene, making the background, or — as in the example above — the foreground, the center of attention.

boat2 boat1

 

I found trying to make a picture of this superb model of a ship quite challenging due to the mirror mounted behind it in this large display case. I moved to each side trying to get an angled picture, but alas I still am somewhat in the picture. I thought this might fit the parameters of the challenge.

Another example is this picture of my daughter I took from my new Windows phone to put in my contacts. If you look in the window over her right shoulder you will see a faint image of me as I take the photo.

mere1

 

This is a photo of some pictures I transferred to my Kindle Fire from my PC. WHile it is only my hands and camera, they are certainly in the background.

ref2

This is a picture of my son and nephew I made with a mirror above them, but still capturing a faint image of me behind the flash.

ref1

Check out these other Weekly Photo Challenge – In the Background posts:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | My.Vivid.Visions
  2. In The Background (Weekly Photo Challenge) | En Vers et Contre-Champs
  3. In the Background | The Life Nomadik
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background | Flickr Comments
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Reflections) | skpfoto
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Ese’ s Voice
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Stephen Chapman
  8. Bus Station | Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | mattsden101
  9. The Sound Evil Makes | Good2begone
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background – Temple | My.Vivid.Visions
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the background | This, that and the other thing
  12. In the Background | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge : In the Background | Moments In Your Life
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background of Flowers! | My.Vivid.Visions
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background – Joy and Woe
  16. Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background – Maddi At Uni
  17. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background of Kite! | My.Vivid.Visions
  18. WordPress Photo Challenge: In the Background | A year in the Life
  19. Weekly Photo Challenge : In the Background | The Eager Traveller
  20. Photoworld 24-5-13 | ~~~ nur ein “Klick” ~~~ ein Kompendium
  21. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Hope* the happy hugger
  22. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Ohm Sweet Ohm
  23. WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE : IN THE BACKGROUND | Lieshadie’s Blog
  24. WordPress weekly photo challenge: In the background | Milka Pejovic
  25. Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic
  26. weekly photo challenge – in the background | myguiltypleasures
  27. Sunset Silhouette | Catching Happy

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Photo Challenge, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – In the Background

  1. Pingback: An Irish General… and me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 5 – The skier | Through the Eye of Bastet

  3. Pingback: WPC background | What's (in) the picture?

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

