Guilty!- Friday Fictioneers – May 17th (BONUS SOPHIE)

copyright – Sarah Ann Hall

I was told when I joined this group there was no treatment for the obsession it created. Now I know this is true. The story of Sophie’s quest to solve murders begs another turn this week. I actually came up with the second story over the weekend, but had unresolved plot lines from the Non-Existent Alibis. Hopefully it amps up the excitement for you, the reader like it did for me!

This story is part of the weekly fun known as Friday Fictioneers. Led by  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, we take the photo and weave our magic with prose and poetry to entertain you. Our following seems to increase each week as new writers and readers join in the fun.

The photo for this adventure is usually supplied by one of our cohorts. This week, Sarah Ann Hall is the photo provider. I hope you will check out his blog. Ted is also one of the 13 authors collaborating with me, Jennifer Pendergast and David Stewart on The Bakers Dozen Fiction Story. You can catch up on that project here.

Due to a popular requests I am keeping Detective Sophie Marcus as my main character for these weekly photo adventures. In previous installments Sophie is brought in to investigate a murder at a writing conference. You can catch up by reading “The Hornet Chronicles“,”Not the Usual Suspects“,  “You Be Mine, I’ll Be Yours” and  “The Non-Existent Alibis“.

(Genre: Crime Fiction) ( 100 words)

The first one:

Sophie stood, arms crossed, studying Ted’s face and then Jennifer’s. She snatched the glasses from her nose and pointed at them.

“You two have become my prime suspects!”

“I think we better confess!” Jennifer said.

“Fine!” Ted relented.

Sophie glanced quickly at Tom, then back at Jennifer and Ted.

“We were working on a new project together, out near the aqueduct. If the conference publisher found out we would be excluded from consideration for the five year offer.”

“Why should I believe you?” Sophie asked.

“We were with our agents, doing a video conference that was recorded. I’ll give you a copy,” Jennifer answered. 

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Then the second, which came over the weekend and I just cannot stand to hold onto until next week:

********************************************************************************************************************************

“Well there is three hours of my life gone!” Sophie said.

“Yes but we have dropped Strutz and Pendergast from the top tier.” Bray moved two pictures from the top line of the suspect board to the second. “It leaves Stewart, Nelson and Appleby.”

“I’ll take Appleby next,” Bray offered.

“Yeah. Female, British accent. What are you sixteen?”

“Been awhile; with our caseload, no time.”

“What about the cheerleader? Sorry…dancer?”

“Didn’t work out.”

Sophie did not comment. Her love was justice. There was nothing like hearing the click of the cuffs when a murderer was caught. They were getting close.

 ***************************************************************************************************************************



friday-fictioneers

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Guilty!- Friday Fictioneers – May 17th (BONUS SOPHIE)

  1. Tessa says:

    Loved both of them. Keep up the series. Series are hard though. I did several and then hit one that died LOL!

  2. Pingback: A Murderer Revealed – Friday Fictioneers – June 7 | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: The Murder Frock – Friday Fictioneers – May 31st | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: What About Tom? – Friday Fictioneers – May 24th | Joe's Musings

  5. Sarah Ann says:

    Love both of these. I’m glad Jen and Ted are off the top tier and really enjoyed how we see the relationship between Bray and Sophie develop in the second piece. Looking forward to an interview with Appleby next week!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

