April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Twenty – Six – Zorro

Day 26 of the April A to Z Challenge. For thirty plus days we have had such an excitement at the thought of creating twenty-six posts corresponding with the letters of the alphabet. When I decided to take on this challenge I pondered about what my them would be. I considered religious themed posts, gardening, movies, music , books and more, similar to what many of the nearly 2,0000 blogers that comprised my counterparts in this month long adventure. Ultimately i decided I wasn’t really sure of my theme so i chose to not be limited and chose the Miscellaneous category.

Now that i am on the other side with thirty days of experience visiting other blogs I think I might have enjoyed a specific theme. I read some a blog where an author interviewed the characters in her story. This gave her character a lot of ldepth and made the reader want to know more. Another blogger chose characters from Young Adult books she had read and that gave exposure to possible new reading material.

I read another series of blogs on Christian themes and know i could have done something similar. Bible verses could easily have made a twenty-six day list. There was also a great series by C.B. Wentworth of places in the world you could visit. I would love to have such a diverse history of travel to share. 

But, alas, I should be happy I was able to complete this challenge. I am among the whatever percentile that posted all twenty six days. I was able to compile a coherent offering each day that entertained someone who came to read. To complete this pattern i will now move on to the subject of today’s post.

Z is for Zorro! Okay, everyone loves a hero. Right now the Marvel guys, you know who I mean : Captain America, The Hulk, Thor and the rest are the hottest thing going. But once upon a time especially in my youth Zorro was the guy for me. I can remember watching guy Williams in the part and i thought Zorro could do no worng or never be defeated. There was just something about his flair. The black clothes, mask, sword work and snappy dialogue was something I could never get enough of as i watched him battle the Mexicans and government of the California Republic.

A few decades later Antonio banderas resurrected the role in a movie series and carried the role very well. I will say I found it difficult to imagine Anthony Hopkins being the older version of Zorro. Perhaps if I had seen him in roles when he was younger I could have made the leap. Banderas won me as a fan in Desperado, so he was easily believable as the dashing swordsman.

Google image

Google image

So there you have my twenty six posts for the April 2013 A to Z challenge. I can say I am glad this is ending, because it can be a time consuming effort. I suppose in eleven months I would be open to trying this again, although I hope next year to get more readers for my posts. I was disappointed that as the month continued the amount of traffic to the posts began to wane.

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Faith, weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Twenty – Six – Zorro

  1. Rinelle Grey says:

    I also choose not to have a specific theme, and am glad I did. While I’ve enjoyed the blogs with specific themes, it’s the ones that show me the writers true self, following topics they feel like at the time, that I’ve enjoyed the most.

    Congratulations on making it to Z.

    Rinelle Grey

  2. My grandma loved Antonio Banderas as Zorro. Every time I see that movie I think of her. 🙂

    Congrats on making it to Z! 🙂

  3. I remember watching the old black and white Zorro show on the Disney Channel when I was younger. I’ve always loved Zorro’s style.

  4. You’ve nearly written you reflections post here too! Mine will be my next post but one! Sue

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

