April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Seventeen – Quality over Quantity

Quality over Quantity. As a rule I normally will only post one time each day. Part of the reason is to meet a challenge such as the A to Z which asks you to post for each letter of the alphabet. Otherwise it is because I just love to write and put it out there for others to read and give feedback. I try to give each post some thorough consideration before I take my time to create something. I know well as anyone how limited time to read can be. If I give a quality post most of the time people will search for it.

I see a lot of blogging sites where there are a multitude of posts: Quantity. Of course some are small posts or picture posts. Others are when people try to answer a lot of prompts. That is more time than I have to devote to blogging. Also, to be honest, I am not versatile enough to blog on every subject out there. I mean look at the Reader and the sheer breadth of topics. Who has that much knowledge?

To me a quality posts is one whose lifespan will be longer than a few days or weeks. That is why you won’t see me give my two cents on the Boston Marathon tragedy. I have no original thought and it will be replaced in time just like the fiscal cliff discussion and the Newtown tragedy. Evergreen posts is what they called it. The kind of posts that no matter how long it is past your publish date it still is relevant.

If you are able to crank out multiple quality posts every day I congratulate you. I read a lot of good posts every day. I try to comment on anything I read, especially when it introduces a new idea or explains an area of knowledge I lack. The reason I do this is because it is a quality post to me that changes my overall knowledge. Don’t stop blogging just make sure when you blog it is worth your reader’s time.

Here are some random A to Z Blogs:

Shar Dimick – Just Words

Writing Prompts From Life

The Barenaked Critic

C.B. Wentworth

Nita’s Books

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Faith, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Seventeen – Quality over Quantity

  1. Thanks for the mention! 🙂

    When I first started blogging, it was an eye opener to see how many bloggers post multiple times a day. I have stopped following blogs that flood my inbox or RSS feed. After a while I realized most bloggers who over-post, are just looking for stats or need attention. In a way, that’s sad to me. Blogging should be a fun mode of expression, rather than a manipulation of readers.

  2. Kenneth Jobe says:

    Although I’m glad I’m doing it (and will probably do it again), the A-Z challenge is really kicking my butt. 2-3 times a week is plenty, in my opinion. I’ve also had to unfollow bloggers who post too often.

  3. Kelly says:

    This is my first time with the A to Z Challenge (and I only started blogging a few months ago). I have to plead guilty as charged, as I’ve found I don’t have time to create a daily quality post, but have tried to keep up with the challenge. After the challenge, i’ll go back to posting a couple of times per week, or when I have time to write something that is definitely of quality, each time, and not just something to post.

  4. rinellegrey says:

    I don’t normally post daily, just for this blog challenge. Other times, two to three times a week is my limit. I think though, that if I had topics planned out (like I have for this), then I could probably make quality posts more often.

    Rinelle Grey

  5. Nagzilla says:

    Amen, brother. The only time I even attempt daily is when I’m doing A to Z. Otherwise it’s overwhelming to try and come up with consistently good content. As a reader, the multiple entries a day folks exhaust me, AND they fill my reader and cause me to miss bloggers that don’t post as frequently, but do post stuff I’m more likely to actually read. I just had to unfollow one this week, not because they didn’t have good posts, there were just way too many of them.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

