April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Eight – Heaven

So what is my choice for H? It is something I came to understand as I attended church as a child at Lebanon United Methodist Church in Meadowview, Virginia. Put simply it is the place known as Heaven. The place all those who know Christ as their Saviour will reside one day. A place of eternal peace and comfort, where all that will be heard is praise to God. Every Christian strives to be among the humber in this everlasting congregation.

I realize everyone does not believe in heaven. That of course is our choice as beings given a free will. We can choose to believe as we wish and deal with the consequences. I am convinced however that there truly is a Hell, where those who do not confess their sins and seek forgiveness will spend eternity in eternal torment.  I choose to not be part of that lot.

John 3:16 says “For God so loved the world He gave his only begotten son that whosoever believeth in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.” We are in the twenty first century and less people than ever before stop to chew on these words. It is a promise we can count on forever. Who else can give you that assurance?

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Faith, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Eight – Heaven

  1. I really hope there is a Heaven . My lovely sister passed away in January this year and I hope I will see her again some day .xx

  2. I believe in Heaven as well. It is not the knowledge of a Hell or seeing the Hell on Earth that drives me toward it – it is the love of a God who cannot hate the love of a God who can forgive the love of a God who sacrificed for us

  3. I grew up Catholic. Even though I do not practice, and don’t hold all the views of the Catholic religion, my foundation is spiritual. I believe in heaven and hell. I believe in good and evil. I’ve always struggled with the constant questioning. But in the end, it all boils down to living the good, and reaping its rewards. I do not wish to be negative in life, nor in death. And that is why I am trying to see the positives, no matter how small, to remain positive.
    Thank you for this post.
    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)

  4. I believe in both Heaven and Hell, just not in the truly Biblical sense. I believe we make Heaven and Hell right here on Earth, with the choices we make every day; who we are, how we are. I believe we also choose what happens in the afterlife – the in-between, as I call it more often than not – based on who we are and how we are. And I love that your post makes room for the expression of my personal beliefs. I have a great appreciation for that openness. Peace. 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

