April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Five – Encourage and Edify

Day Five:Encourage and Edify

Who has encouraged you in your life? Is it a teacher, a friend or perhaps your parents? Who encourages you know? Perhaps your spoouse does this or your children. Since I joined WordPress in October i discovered a whole knew source of inspiration in the friends I have made during my blogging experience. The chance to receive encouragement comes every time you offer a post for others to read.

But there is a two way street to encouragement. You must also be eager to give encouragement to others. Now I know for some people the time to encourage another seems too much to carve out of our day, but it does not take that long to uplift another. Just make sure you mean what you say. Empty encouragement is easily identified and will make you seem insincere.

A few years ago I took the time to send an e-mail to the guy in charge of the blood donor suite at the hospital nearby. Every time I went to donate blood i felt like I was visiting my family. I established relationships with the staff and wanted the man in charge to know how good my experience was. I hope he shared the note with his staff.

This past October I did this again when a local high school band which could be considered a rival made a special gesture of coming on the football field after the results of a band competition to compliment our band. This was an exceptional  gesture and I felt it warranted a mention back to the band directors of the other band. I was pleased to know it came all the way back to our school and band director who mentioned the conversation to me.

There was also a day when my brother in law sent a note of appreciation after attending a football game one Friday night. The band director shared this with the kids in our band, including my son and daughter, from their uncle. The kids were excited as my brother in law was so complimentary about their poise, performance and excitement as they cheered on the football team.

To edify someone is a similar concept, except it is more of a term associated with faith. The Dictionary.com definition says this: to instruct or benefit, especially morally or spiritually; uplift. Thirteen years ago I was a new deacon at our church. I needed someone to edify me as i learned the ropes. I was blessed to have several older deacons who understood this term and did their best to apply their knowledge to my benefit.

Now I am in the position of being the one to edify. My wife and I have responsibility for the middle school age class in our church Sunday School program. We want to help these youngsters at a very impressionable time in their young lives. It is part of the commands issued through the bible for believers to make disciples.

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Five – Encourage and Edify

  1. Pingback: My 100th Post (with 100 blogger quotes) | PRIORHOUSE blog

  2. Tadalena says:

    Joe,
    How do you unfollow someone on here?

    I can’t seem to find a button for that…

  3. Thank you for your piece describing the difference between encourage and edify. Very enlightening. I love to encourage others. It’s also a way to get my but in gear and feel positive about things. But do you ever wonder if your encouragement goes unnoticed? Sometimes I do. But I guess that’s the negative voices inside my head screaming at me. I have a real hard time quieting them sometimes. I guess I’d need someone to help edify me on my positive and encouraging ways. 🙂

    • Joe Owens says:

      Sometimes people do not see the encouragement for what it is. We cannot make them accept the offer. When they don’t accept, it is likely because of their state of mind and being focused on their troubles.

  4. chrissy50 says:

    Joe,
    This is amazing and you are indeed an encourager. Thank you for taking the time to stop at a beginning crocheter/broken writer’s blog. I love you for doing that. For being so generous and heartfelt. Never stop being who you are.

    Rock on! Only a gazillion letters left, man!! 😀

    -Chris

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

