April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Four – Denouement

The challenge continues! We are already on the fourth day and advance to the letter D. As with my writing, the idea usually comes pretty easily about what to make my subject. Last night I experienced a dose of writer’s block. There is a writing contest with a deadline on Sunday and i hoped to be able to find something to fit their criteria. It seemed no matter how hard I tried I could not get anywhere. So i chose to finish the book I have been reading for several days.

Don’t worry I am getting to the subject of my post, the word starting with D. It is Denouement. This is a term I learned in high school. We studied the anatomy of story telling and story building in high school, which included plot, characters, point of view, setting and other pieces of the process. However, the cherry on top is the proper execution of the denouement. We, as writers, must set up our plot carefully and think out all phases of our story so we bring the action along at a steady pace. Part of this process is to steadily approach the climax of our story.

The denouement is the resolution of the conflict we so carefully carry with us as we develop the plot. A good denouement makes the story one the reader will not only enjoy, but repeat to others. A denouement that lacks punch will leave the reader feeling cheated. i say this because when I finished my book last night I had just such an experience. My book started out with humor and excitement building, but somewhere about three-quarters of the way it lost the tight writing and seemed to limp to the end.

When a reader invests their time in a story they want it to not only be believable, but thrilling to the end. I will probably not follow this writer due to the lack of ability to deliver. My time is precious, just like all the readers each of us will ever earn. We must do our job and give them what they want.

I am off to read some other posts from the challenge. Thanks for coming to read my entry and i will see you on the challenge trail!

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Four – Denouement

  1. Noelle says:

    Fantastic word for D, one I’ve always loved. Never really thought of it in terms of the ending of a book, but more in the sense of the ending of a love affair. Guess I am a romantic.

  2. Rosanna says:

    I’m a non-fiction writer but I think I can use denouement to add flavor to my articles. Nice post! Thanks!

  3. Great explanation of denouement! My biggest hurdle was ever learning to spell the word. 🙂

    Sherrey at Healing by Writing

  4. Sonia Lal says:

    God. Perfect endings like that hard to come by.

  5. A good denouement is critical to works of fiction, not just books but also in movies. It’s a real let down when you feel that the book or movie didn’t take you anywhere or didn’t resolve the conflict/dilema that was presented. Can you belive that the Challenge is almost at the end of its first week?

  6. This reminds me of a post from Kris Rusch last week. She wrote about reading a new book by one of her favorite authors, and how it didn’t deliver; she was left disappointed. The point of her post was, authors can’t have a hit every single time, much as we want them to. That disappointment didn’t prevent her from pre-ordering the author’s next book.
    Time is precious, as you said. I can see that in Kris’ case, the author in question had many books published, and so was a known quantity. In the case of lesser-known or new authors, one perceived miss is all it takes to lose a reader, or many of them. And so it goes.

    • Joe Owens says:

      WIth time to get over the disappointment I may want to try the author again. Like i said there was quite a bit of humor through the first three quarters of the book.

  7. bronbloxham says:

    Love it. Yes, it is so frustrating when you get to the end of the story and it sort of deflates in you hands like a busted balloon. Or as if the author has got the requisite amount of words down and then, ah well, you fill in the blanks!

  8. rinellegrey says:

    I had no idea it had a specific name! I agree though, a good denouement is just as important as a good beginning.

    Rinelle Grey

  9. Great post but I’m now thinking I shouldn’t even try to finish any of my novels as I won’t meet your criteria.. oops.. Just promise never to read my books and I’ll carry on. tee hee..
    Thanks for poppping by mine by the way.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

