April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Three – Characters

Day three of the magical adventure is here! I really enjoy the chance to meet the other bloggers taking this plunge. I have read some really interesting topics so far using the first two letters of the alphabet. I cannot tell you how many posts I have read, probably at least fifty over the first two days, but I can say that more than once I found ideas I wish I had discovered to use for topics.

When I took the time to settle on a topic for day three there seemed to be only one word that continued to come to the forefront of my thought process: Characters. Without strong characters your story will not draw the reader in or make them identify with the struggle  the character faces and root for your character to succeed. If you will take a moment to recall your favorite book I bet you can name the main character as well as the supporting ones.

When I choose a creative writing prompt, the first thought is to decide whether the main character is male or female. This is a major pivot point. The point of view of a woman facing a crisis is very different than a male counterpart. The goals of each will be so different. Their dreams, desires and personalities will frame the way the plot flows.

You want the reader to identify in such a way that they feel invested in your protagonist. If they despise the antagonist that is great as well. The characters must be real, however. It is easy to design the “perfect” character with no obvious flaws, but who do we know in our world like that. I am the first to admit I have many flaws  When i run out of ideas my wife can step in to keep the list going. Your characters need to have humanity so they are believable.

I am off to read some other posts from the challenge. Thanks for coming to read my entry and i will see you on the challenge trail!

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Three – Characters

  1. Alana says:

    Great C topic. I saw another piece on characters during my A to Z rounds that involved an interview with the character. I can’t quite remember where I saw it now, but I believe it was on one of the blogs at the very tail end of the list. If I can remember, I’ll come back and share, because I think you would really enjoy the links and the tips in that post while you are working on your characters!!

    ~Alana @ writercize.blogspot.com
    Cheering you on from A through Z!

  2. svaria says:

    I like this topic! Last night at one of my writer’s meetings we were talking about characters and developing them. One of my friends and I got into a long discussion about developing not only you good guys but your bad guys too. You don’t have to tell the world what is up with the bad guy but when /you/ know it makes things a lot easier. 😀 Great post!

  3. I find it interesting that you prioritize the choice about gender – makes total sense. Thanks for stopping by MROP; let’s continue having fun with A – Z 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

