Daily Prompt – Idyllic

What does your ideal community look like? How is it organized, and how is community life structured? What values does the community share?

Daily Prompt

I think my ideal community is much like the one where I live today. My home is in a rural community where the land is more plentiful than the homes. It is about a quarter mile removed from where I grew up, so i know most of my neighbors on a first name basis. Within an hour’s drive is access to the major shopping chains that supply basically every need. Some are closer, such as Lowe’s home improvement warehouse, so I can take care of whatever maintenance needs I have.

There are plenty of churches in my neighborhood. Anyone who regularly reads my blog knows I am a Christian and believe Christ came to save us from the sins of this mortal world. To me ideal communities have a strong Christian faith that binds the community together. We saw a great example of this when a series of Tornadoes ripped through our area. The outpouring of support from churches was overwhelming. Churches up to two hours away came in to help with the immediate clean up process.

In my idyllic community the welfare of all would be the foremost concern. I heard a story on the radio this morning about people who need assistance with their tax preparation but cannot afford the fees involved. Volunteers provide this service to save those with limited incomes from having to pay the substantial preparation fees most tax preparation services ask. This is a fine example of reaching out for the good of all.

When I was younger I noticed the promise of going to a bigger city where the money would be better in the higher paying jobs. unfortunately the cost of living is different and the culture as well as societal norms are much different from my comfort zone. To my mind I am in my idyllic community right now. Sure there are things that can be better, but part of that is our responsibility as the people who make up the residents.

One other thing I will add. It is supposed to be Spring according to the calendar. My idyllic community would have a temperature range from the fifties to the mid-80s. I am no fan of winter weather and here we are five days into the season of blooms and flowers and we are expecting yet another Winter Storm. On top of that our heat pump stopped working this morning. Ugh. Give me the warm temperatures I enjoyed during my week in Belize during December.

More Idyllic communities:

  1. The Ambiguity Of Fences | Philosophy & Photography
  2. march 25 Daily Prompt: Idyllic | Family Photos Food & Craft
  3. Daily Prompt: Idyllic « Mama Bear Musings
  4. Mayberry Is Okay With Me | The Jittery Goat
  5. Daily Prompt: The Ideal Community | Creative Mysteries
  6. Daily Prompt: Idyllic | Of Glass & Paper
  7. Daily Prompt – Idyllic | Joe’s Musings
  8. Daily Prompts – Idyllic | Life With Pink Princesses
  9. Daily Prompt: Idyllic Community | My Daily Prompt Blog
  10. Idyllic – Epic Community | Bullets & Dreams
  11. No disappearing pavements and streets | Daily Prompt: Idyllic | likereadingontrains
  12. Perfectville – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur
  13. The Daily Post: Democracy or Development, a Deficit of Dualism | Ye Pirate’s Pledges
  14. Idyllic | Asturian Diary
  15. Home | Paul Scribbles
  16. Memetic Ecology: A Thought on My Personal Paradise | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  17. Daily Prompt: Idyllic (or How I Learned to Love the Hammer and Sickle) | My Atheist Blog
  18. Daily Prompt: Idyllic | I’m Making Happiness
  19. Daily Prompt: The Idyllic Society of Rolbos | Rolbos ©
  20. Leave It to Beaver vs. Southern Hospitality | Creative and Juicy
  21. Daily Prompt: Idyllic Courtland, a Piece of Heaven | Lines by Linda
  22. Daily Prompt: Idyllic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Idyllic | The Nameless One
  24. A community | Sue’s Trifles
  25. Utopia! Mytopia, Yourtopia or Theirtopia? (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  26. Community thing | Spunky Wayfarer
  27. Daily Prompt: Idyllic | cognitive reflection
  28. Not daily Prompt!! Shopping, and other issues! | prettywitgla33es
  29. Daily Prompt: Communities | Not The Sword But The Pen
  30. Daily Prompt: Idyllic | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt – Idyllic

  1. Pingback: Idyllic – Epic Community | Bullets & Dreams

  2. Mr. Atheist says:

    HA! Weather trumps it all! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mayberry Is Okay With Me | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Memetic Ecology: A Thought on My Personal Paradise | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Idyllic (or How I Learned to Love the Hammer and Sickle) | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Home | Paul Scribbles

  7. Pingback: Perfectville – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Idyllic Community | My Daily Prompt Blog

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

