Daily Prompt – Competition

What activity, task, or game most brings out your competitive streak?

Daily Prompt

At my age and relative physical condition any physical competition must be short lived, or something done in short bursts. In my job I am a desk Jockey and do not spend enough time on my feet to develop any kind of physical prowess. The fact that the winter drags on in my neck of the woods adds to the situation as a rainy forecast today will negate a chance to take a walk with my wife later this afternoon. My only alternative may be time with the treadmill.

Over the years I have enjoyed baseball,l basketball, football and cycling as my kids learned each sport. But you really cannot compete with them on a full speed level for fear of them getting hurt when they are younger and less developed. My son is going to be eighteen in about seven weeks and he has a fairly good ability to his long shots, or three point range tries when we take time to set up the portable goal and shoot some hoops. I never got the chance to play in high school and he tried one year, but sat on the bench the majority of the time, so lost interest.

I used to enjoy playing trivial pursuit when it was first popular. I knew a lot of the answers, so it was something that I could succeed with. I also enjoyed Monopoly, but as my kids have aged their attraction waned. We do play a couple of  card games with some neighbors occasionally, Canasta and hand and Foot, or double Canasta. This brings out some competitiveness and we enjoy the strategy involved.

I find myself feeling a bit of competitive fire as I read about others success in getting their work noticed and published. I guess it is just human nature to feel some envy when you see another accomplish something you desire so deeply. I read a Writer’s Digest story yesterday that described writers as kind but selfish. We want to succeed, but cannot help but feel a tinge of jealousy when others succeed faster or farther than we.

I suppose there is not one true competitive thing in my life. I understood long ago that the true success in life does not come from besting others, but working together to assure all succeed to their full potential.

  1. Competition – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  2. Competition — The Internal Battle and The Best Friend | Creative and Juicy
  3. Daily Prompt: Competition | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  4. In Contention | The Daily Dilly Dally
  5. Daily Prompt – Competition | Joe’s Musings
  6. Daily Prompt: Competition | My Atheist Blog
  7. Daily Prompt: Competition « Mama Bear Musings
  8. There’s No Shame In Losing, But There Is In Bitterness | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: Competition | بيسان
  10. Jeopardy Champion: A Story of a Rich and Famous! | Just James
  11. Avoid confusing healthy competitive behavior with unhealthy competitive behavior | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  12. Daily Prompt: Competition | Talker Huge
  13. A Whole Other Contest | Daily Prompt: Competition | likereadingontrains
  14. Bowling | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  15. So that’s…10 for the Q… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. Ilya Fostiy. Actor | Philosophy & Photography
  17. The Pursuit of Trivia « Sorta-Ginger
  18. Competition | The Nameless One
  19. Daily Prompt: Competition | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Well, I’ll Just One Up YOU then: Utilizing Competition For Improvement | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  21. Daily Prompt: Competition Of Myself | My Daily Prompt Blog
  22. Daily Prompt: Competitiveness And Learning | Creative Mysteries
  23. Daily Prompt: March 24 | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  24. Competition | Maureen
  25. Why Sometimes It Pays to be Competitive | Lydablogger
  26. Simply the best ? Hm… (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  27. Daily Prompt: Competition | llothcatscomics
  28. Confessions of a (Former) Dork | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  29. I am the Champion..? | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  30. The Nature of a Competitor | Sam’s Online Journal
  31. Batshit Crazy is for the Birds | Off Go the Panties
  32. Daily Prompt: Competition | Code For Confession
  33. Daily Prompt: The Game | One Starving Activist
  34. Grant. — What the RFP doesn’t tell you… | mommyverbs
  35. I Win, I Win, I Win!!! | Cheri Speak
  36. Daily Prompt: Compete Against Myself | Write it Real
  37. Daily Prompt: Competition | tirochelle
  38. Play nice, boys and girls | The Small Girl Chronicles
  39. Daily Prompt: Is Competition Necessary | Not The Sword But The Pen
  40. Daily Prompt: Competition | Waggingmytale’s Blog
  41. Head full of Fluff
  42. Everybody Wins | Wiley’s Wisdom
  43. My competitive streak: dare to tell me I can’t! | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  44. Daily Prompt: Competition | Basically Beyond Basic
  45. Twenty-Third Thing | Make 52 Things
  46. march 24 Daily Prompt: Competition | Family Photos Food & Craft
  47. Hard to be Competitive | Death By Any Other Name
  48. Daily Prompt: Competition | The Blogging Path
  49. Daily Prompt: Competition: Sports | This and That
  50. Playing to win | Sue’s Trifles
  51. A Competitive Streak of Mine – Daily Prompt: Competition | it’s just abOut Me 🙂
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt – Competition

  1. Pingback: I Win, I Win, I Win!!! | Cheri Speak

  2. Pingback: There’s No Shame In Losing, But There Is In Bitterness | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Well, I’ll Just One Up YOU then: Utilizing Competition For Improvement | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Competition Of Myself | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Competition | Beyond Beauty Tips

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Competition | بيسان

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Competition | My Atheist Blog

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

