Daily Prompt: Menagerie

Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

100_1564100_1566

A dog has been a part of my life for most of my life. The exception was of course during my time away at school and the first eight years of marriage. Part of the absence was due to the places we lived. Another was because my wife was not used to having a dog around.

The place we live now has plenty of room for a dog to roam  which to me is a prerequisite to owning a pet. One of the things I most dislike is seeing a pet of any kind tied to a fixed point and not attended to at all. There is just no way to feel good about this treatment of an animal.

100_1575100_1581

The recognition a pet gives you is always dependable. They greet you with a happy heart every day, believing every time you see them you will treat them with love and attention  just as they will you. When I go outside my dog wants to be near me no matter what I do. Sometimes that is good and sometimes it can be annoying if you do something where they can get in the way.

This little girl became Ellie Mae and went to a friend of ours named Becky.

This little girl became Ellie Mae and went to a friend of ours named Becky.

100_1593

This fella went to some friends of ours we met through Relay For life. He got the name of Charlie Brown and is much like his father, weighing over 100 pounds.

Five summers ago we had a litter of nine Labrador Retriever puppies at our place. This was a very joyous time as the cute factor ratcheted up significantly. With one cream colored puppy and nine chocolate ones we had a lot of fun raising them to adoption age.

Read the other Daily Prompt – Menagerie posts:

  1. Daily Post: Menagerie | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  2. Security | Conversations
  3. Safety Sounds Like a Cat Purring | Wandering Voiceless
  4. Everyday Adventures | Daily Prompt: Menagerie
  5. Nellie has spotted her sworn enemy | Philosophy & Photography
  6. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Basically Beyond Basic
  7. Photo comics “Nellie and a piece of meat” | Philosophy & Photography
  8. Le Chat Noir | Philosophy & Photography
  9. Animals have feelings too | Right Down My Alley
  10. Travels With Ole Duke | The Jittery Goat
  11. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | The Gozum Show
  12. This is the tale of two cats and three dogs | Fantasy Gathering
  13. Miss Turtle | بيسان
  14. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  15. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Joe’s Musings
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Dogs, Family, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily Prompt: Menagerie

  1. Pingback: Oh, my dog. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: My so-called pets | Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  3. Pingback: Ménage à dix | The Daily Dilly Dally

  4. Pingback: A Part of the Family | Death By Any Other Name

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

