Daily Prompt – Show and Tell

You’ve been asked to do a five-minute presentation to a group of young schoolchildren on the topic of your choice. Describe your presentation. 

I love growing flowers and plants. The whole process of either starting something beautiful from a seed or cutting is a thrilling and enjoyable exercise for me. For five years I ran a fair sized greenhouse business from my property. I would offer about 7,000 flowers and 10,000 vegetable plants each growing season.

The school kids in one of my smaller greenhouses.

The school kids in one of my smaller greenhouses.

During the time I did this, my children were in the elementary school age range. I made the most of this by inviting their classes out to have a field trip at my greenhouses  This was a perfect field activity to mirror their science class. They had subjects concerning photosynthesis. the anatomy of flowers and the way the plants drew nourishment and moisture from the earth.

I was able to cover all of this and illustrate the concepts to them during their field trips. Since I had familiarity with what my kids studied it was easy to directly relate my show and tell to their knowledge, while adding in some extra information.

Geraniums on the left ans Spikes on the right

Geraniums on the left ans Spikes on the right

I also made sure to include some hands on activities for the kids to be a part of the process. With children of my own and a love for the little ones I have so much experience dealing with them that I understand all talk and no play can be so very boring. I made sure I had some plants they could transplant into little pots to take with them. I hope I sparked an interest in some of them about plants and growing their own.

Here are more Show and Tell Posts

  1. Photo comics “Nellie and a piece of meat” | Philosophy & Photography
  2. Russian UAZ | Philosophy & Photography
  3. Timeless Russia | Philosophy & Photography
  4. Evolution | Philosophy & Photography
  5. My story collection “Platypus” | Philosophy & Photography
  6. Who Are You? | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  7. The Most Interesting 3 year old In The World | That Girl Ryan
  8. What a Wonderful World – Show and Tell | Prayers and Promises
  9. What a Wonderful World – Show and Tell | Prayers and Promises
  10. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Daily Post: Show and Tell | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  12. Cast and a Sprained Foot | Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | likereadingontrains
  13. Don’t Believe Anybody Under The Age Of 30 | The Jittery Goat
  14. Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  15. Five minutes of liberty | Spunky Wayfarer
  16. The Joy Of Poultry – Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  17. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Basically Beyond Basic
  18. Show and Tell | The Nameless One
  19. Give us this day our Daily Bread | The Daily Dilly Dally
  20. Show and Tell | Ramblin’ On
  21. Oh! Hell. Not again. | This Is My Corn
  22. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Daily Prompt – Show and Tell | Joe’s Musings
  24. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  25. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | My Atheist Blog
  26. Show and Tell | “Choice” | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
  27. It’s A Trap! | Life With The Top Down
  28. Sunscreen | Head full of Fluff
  29. Daily Prompt: Tell and Show | One Starving Activist
  30. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell 5 Minute Presentation | My Blog
  31. 3 Worse Show-And-Tell Presentations Than The Kid Who Brought $20,000 In Cash To School | NotTheWorstNews
  32. The Daily Masquerade | calliopes lyre
  33. Faith in Love | Dating What? Not!
  34. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | The Blogging Path
  35. writemybrainsout
  36. ugurhun
  37. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Moonlight Reflections
  38. Senbazuru | Paul Scribbles
  39. Just Be Yourself | Twisted Muses
  40. Wise Beyond Their Years | Wiley’s Wisdom
  41. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell / Ravens | Overcoming Bloglessness
  42. Show & Tell: Teaching Kids “OLD” Games | Writing Canvas
  43. School presentation: show and tell | Being Special
  44. You Can Make A Difference | Learning, Running, and Writing
  45. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Ooh, How Interesting! Tell Me More. 8) | Loading…
  46. Les performances du blog | Blog de Michel
  47. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Tranquil Dreams
  48. Daily Prompt : Show and Tell | writinglikeastoner
  49. Show and Tell. — In Dr. Seuss Style | mommyverbs
  50. Nothing Up My Sleeve | Mike Sensitivity
  51. Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | huntprayerpoems
  52. 16:3 Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | Family Photos Food & Craft
  53. Show and Tell – the way that it went | The Daily Dilly Dally

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, children, Daily Prompt, flowers, gardening, greenhouse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daily Prompt – Show and Tell

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    That sounds like an all day fun trip…not just a five minute…that is a field trip I would want to chaperone. Thank you for the ping back.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt : Show and Tell | writinglikeastoner

  3. Good share 😀 Sharing something you’re interested in and being able to teach during the process that helps with the growing up of kids is an amazing feeling.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Senbazuru | Paul Scribbles

  6. Pingback: Don’t Believe Anybody Under The Age Of 30 | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Show and Tell | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Show and Tell 5 Minute Presentation | My Blog

  9. Pingback: Show and Tell | “Choice” | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

