Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

One hundred eighty degrees. Half a circle for those of you who chose to snooze in math class. Or perhaps you have heard someone describe a radical change as doing a 360. That is impossible as a 360 describes a complete revolution which will send you on in the same direction you came.

Alright, enough of the mathematics lesson. I read this post yesterday and could not immediately think of something that would fit the bill. I am not exactly resistant to change, but most of the time when you get into a routine you just don’t make a significant change. A one hundred eighty degree change is pretty radical.

1992 HF2001 HF

So as I though about what to add with this prompt I settled on something related to my writing. Particularly about submitting my work to writing competitions. Before I joined WordPress I really did not see many opportunities to do this. Several years ago I had a unique opportunity to submit some novel length work to a local writing competition.

I live in a small town in Virginia. We have an annual festival the first two weeks of August each  year known as the Virginia Highlands Festival. It includes Arts, Crafts, Music, food and so much more. One day is devoted to writing workshops and usually some published authors will lead workshops on the craft.

1998 HF

A few years ago there was a Creative Writing competition. The contest accepted entries for poetry, essay and novel length works. I am not sure how many years this was the case, but I managed to contribute entries three times, each of them a novel length manuscript. I am happy to say I received two honorable mention awards and a second place for the other. It was some validation I needed at that time that my work could compete.

So what is my one hundred eighty degree turn? The last time I entered my writing in a contest was 2001, over twelve years ago. I did not stop writing during the interval between then and now, I just did not seek out contests like I once had. Joining WordPress, however, has given me a great source of potential contests to enter.

Part of my 2013 Writing Goals is to enter more contests. So far I have entered several. Some of the results have been announced and while I cannot claim success in the form of monetary reward, I feel I am better for the experience and getting my work out to new readers.

These are the contests I have entered this year:

  • Writer’s Digest – Your Story #48 – 25 word story about woman falling in pool.
  • Creative Contest #7 – Emma Overcoming – Won First Prize
  • Submitted “The Family Secrets” to Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award – Did not advance to second round.
  • Submitted to Charlottesville Winter’s Valentine’s Day writing contest.
  • Submitted to 2013 Nelligan Prize for short Fiction
  • Submitted to Shenandoah Bevel Summer Contest
  • Submitted to Lascaux Flash Fiction Contest

This is my change, the radical difference. I know many of you will share more personal thoughts about changing you life spiritually or perhaps by losing weight to make yourself more healthy. I look forward to reading the other entries for this prompt.

Some other Daily Prompt – 180 Degree prompts

  1. Daily Post: 180 Degrees | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  2. 180 degrees | Taking time, making time
  3. Why You Shouldn’t Just Assume that North Korea is Crazy | Never Stationary
  4. My Very First Time | Stuphblog
  5. War And Courage | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Completely Disappear
  7. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees – Tiny’s Story | Rolbos ©
  8. Almost became “trained” | Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | likereadingontrains
  9. 117. The Family Van: Doing a 180: DPChalenge | Sofie’s Diary
  10. Enabling road kill: today’s 180 | Miss Moiety
  11. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | بيسان
  12. No way, not on your nelly… where do I sign? | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  13. Daily Post: Wait A Minute! | One Starving Activist
  14. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees In Thought And Action | My Blog
  15. 180 Degree Turn | thelissachronicles
  16. Bosch? Tefal? Rowenta? Braun? | Philosophy & Photography
  17. I can’t believe you believe that | writemybrainsout
  18. Never judge a book…or a market holder! | thoughtsofrkh
  19. This one time… | thematticuskingdom
  20. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Becoming Aussie
  21. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover | knocked over by a feather
  22. Turning Myself Around | So You Think You Can Think
  23. Meet Bellamy | Ald+R
  24. Daily prompt: outside of the comfort zone | The Small Girl Chronicles
  25. Hokey Pokey | Nana’s Musings
  26. 180 Degrees | The Nameless One
  27. Daily Post: 180 Degrees! | EMBRACE YOU
  28. How I Got My “A” | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  29. Thoughts on Reversal | Mind of a Mouse
  30. It’s Not Easy Eating Green | This Thread Sucks
  31. Post a Week: 180 | sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  32. 180° | Yeahthtsme
  33. Lost | theloneshewolf
  34. Daily Prompt: Never | Cytherean Dreams
  35. Turning Myself Around- Part 2 | So You Think You Can Think
  36. On Dreams and Pre-Destined Dilemmas. | Share, My Dad Says.
  37. Changing my point of view | My thought exactly…!
  38. Degrees of Right | Paul Scribbles
  39. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  40. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  41. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees « Mama Bear Musings
  42. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Mostly Just Fiction
  43. 180 ̊̊̊̊ | atomickaleidoscope | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
  44. I Walk the Line | The Daily Dilly Dally
  45. The Third Law Of Unfairness | Fish Of Gold
  46. TheDeafia | Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees
  47. 180 Degrees – The Ultimate Turnaround | The Bottom of a Bottle
  48. Half A Circle Away – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur
  49. It May Have Saved My Life | So I Went Undercover
  50. The Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees/ Meeting Babette Adventure | Adventures of the Lonely Bride and Babette
  51. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | The Blogging Path
  52. Just Friends…? | – ellikitty –
  53. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Brian Hardie’s Blogpost Modern ChapCyberZine
  54. Lalalal | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  55. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Basically Beyond Basic
  56. Keeping the Moon and Other Crimes… | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  57. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Talker Huge
  58. Forget First Impressions | Wiley’s Wisdom
  59. Just Turn Around and Walk Away | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life
  60. Guilt, social media, writer’s block, and the grossest of word vomits I have ever produced. | Polyprotic Amory
  61. 180 Degrees And Still Turning | Dree Speaks Freely
  62. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees Weight | Lines by Linda
  63. Smile. Learn. Live | The Lurker’s List
  64. Rule Bending | Mike Sensitivity
  65. Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Live. Love. Laugh
  66. Bed Ridden | In Harmony
  67. 180 degree reversal: changing your mind? | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  68. 180°- The Story Of My Life? | Tails from a Monkey’s Hippocampus
  69. 14:3 Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Family Photos Food & Craft
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

  1. snosler says:

    I have never entered a contest – but I should … I keep repeating that to myself – thanks for the reminder 🙂 Anyhoo, I’m a little late in this topic but wanted to throw my two bits all the same – hope you can stop by my place soon. cheers!

  2. I think it’s wonderful that you are entering your work in these contests. I wish you all the best! Congrats on all your past success. I’m sure the future holds many good things for you.

  3. TammyeHoney says:

    Congratulations on your success. Glad to hear that you kept going. Thank you for the ping back.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

