Freedom Flower – Friday Fictioneers – 3/15/13

It’s that time again, the day the Friday Fictioneers pine for all week, when our lovely hostess, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields , throws down the gauntlet when she posts the photo that will taunt the writers in it’s endless possibilities each week. You think I jest? See how many of the one hundred plus stories are the same. I can tell you they won’t be.

copyright: Lora Mitchell

copyright: Lora Mitchell

Our diverse group of world wide writers each see a different explanation of the photo. There jmay be murder, mayhem, suspense, zombies, Vampires, Angelique and others involved. It could be romantic or chilling, in essence you could get any genre you favor here.

A special thanks to Lora Mitchell for the photo we use as the jumping off point.

I have made many friends with the 90+ souls that try this task each week. We have friends from the far reaches of the globe that follow each other’s stories each week. It is an exicting effort, both in the writing and the reading. Come along with us and try your hand at the Friday fictioneers prompt!

Genre (General Fiction)

It was the only flower I kept after the funeral. None of the others appealed to me anyway. What should a widow do in the situation I wonder?

I stood and stared at it against the backdrop of the city. A strange composition for a picture, but I took it anyway. He would have never allowed it there, preferring his beloved skyline.

Now I could do what I wanted, finally, without fear of his fists. The plan was solid, the results were better than I dreamed. No one suspected a thing. I even fooled the detectives from Precinct Twelve.

 



About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Freedom Flower – Friday Fictioneers – 3/15/13

  1. Pingback: What Would You Do? – Friday Fictioneers – April 12 | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Telling Her Story – Friday Fictioneers – April 5th and A to Z Challenge Day Six – Fictioneering | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: Equine Wisdom – Friday Fictioneers 3/22/13 | Joe's Musings

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Joe,

    Loved the twist at the end. Your details were impeccable and sod the scene.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. great story! I love how empowered you portray the character! Nice!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

