Five Question Friday

This is a neat little place I found in my blog travels today. It is called Five Question Friday and it is an opportunity to share a bit about yourself as you answer five random questions from My Little Life. We all have more of us to know, right? So if you are looking for another post idea try this out.

5QF

1. What is a hobby you would love to learn and why? 

I would love to learn to play the piano. I have a teen age daughter that has taken lessons for years and is playing something now called “A Drop in the Ocean”. It is a beautiful song and it just makes me want to sit down and learn.

My daughter’s teacher is a friend that has an unbelievable ability, mostly natural talent, but also lessons from childhood through college and any time she plays I can sit forever listening to the beauty she shares.

2. What do you wish you could have delivered to your house but does not deliver?

Small odds and ends hardware. You know what I mean if you have ever need to fix a day-to-day problem like a leaky faucet or a new screw or bolt and nut to remedy something that has worn out. I make more trips to the local Lowes for this stuff than you can believe. It is a lot better over the last three years because we got a Lowes at the next interstate exit, so the trip is about ten minutes there and ten back rather than the thirty to the other and thirty back.

Saturday is the day I get to enjoy outside work, gardening and yard work, so having to run for these miscellaneous items can sometimes rob me of all the stress relieving moments I need. Being able to receive the delivery would be nice, but as the question says it is not normally delivered, so i guess it is just a dream.

3. What’s your favorite snow day activity? Inside and out?

I used to love riding on the snow. As a child I sledded as much as possible and seemed to experience more frequent and deeper snows. One of my favorite snow activities, believe it or not is to shovel snow. Really! Growing up I would work with my best friend and brother to clear about 150 feet of paved road each time it snowed for the lady that kept us during the day so that the parents could get to the house to pick up the kids at the end of the day.

Now I have a Kubota tractor with a scraper blade to clear the hair salon drive for my wife’s business. I have had great fun doing this and find myself looking for every opportunity to use it.

4. Would you meet a stranger from an Internet dating site?

No. Simple question, simple answer. I am happily married and not looking. I guess it works for some, but I like face to face interaction. Anything can be typed on an internet site.

5. If you had to spend 35 hours in a car with 4 other people, who would you choose?
I would pick Jesus first. I would want to hear from him about the way I live my life. I would want my wife along because we have such a great relationship and being without her I would feel lost. I would also pick George Washington. I find him an infinitely interesting man. I cannot identify a fourth because the possibilities are endless.

So these are my responses to Five Question Friday. If you are interested in adding to the discussion you can follow the link at the top of the post. I am interested to hear what others have to say.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Question Friday

  1. kjherstin says:

    You’re never to old to learn. Go for it!

  2. dailyshorts says:

    I thought about including Jesus in my #5 for the same reason, but decided against since I have a birds eye view of how I’m living my life. It’s not bad never has been, but there are definite areas of improvement. Your #1 brings me back to my youth when I played the piano ad the flute and from time-to-time the drums. I actually banged on the drums than played for real. I’ve thought about taking up piano again considering there is one the house that has now become an expensive decoration. I say definitely say take up the piano. If nothing else you’ll be able to play chopsticks with her. 😀

  3. mindofshoo says:

    I too would love to learn to play the piano. As a kid I would go to my grandmother’s and she’s play for me. What a joy.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

