Coming Home – Friday Fictioneers – 2/8/13

Copyright - Rich Voza

Copyright – Rich Voza

Who writes fiction? People with imagination, that is who. You can find tons of imagination online. For focused imagination you have to search a bit more. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields is the ringmaster of a weekly collection of world trotting  wordsmiths who eagerly accept the weekly challenge known as the Friday Fictioneers! What is this madness? It is a weekly photo prompt provided to challenge your fiction talent. This week’s prompt is shown to the right and supplied by Rich Voza, thanks Rich! The requirement is 100 words, no more in a story form to illuminate the photo.

Our troupe grows each week, with stories of all kinds. If you want to join you can follow this link Friday Fictioneers. Below you will find my 100 word offering for this eek. Enjoy and comment please!

Genre: General Fiction

****************************************

I sit, staring at the ticket counter, waiting for the announcement. My flight home is supposed to leave in two minutes. I never thought I would get this far, especially after the I.E.D. lifted my Humvee off the ground. Even now the guilt is horrible. The four other guys with me aren’t coming home. Well, they are, but not like this. Mom and Dad will be at the airport to greet me. I wonder if mom will cry when she sees me. Sometimes I want to when I look in the mirror. I won’t complain though at least I’m alive.

************************************



About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Coming Home – Friday Fictioneers – 2/8/13

  1. Pingback: Alone – Friday Fictioneers – 2/15/13 | Joe's Musings

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

