Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight

The Daily Post Question for 1/1/2013 is this: Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

Image

I was with my wife, at home, where we generally always are for the turn of the year. We were able to spend the entire day together as we enjoyed an overnight trip to Blowing Rock, North Carolina. These overnight trips alone are not very frequent with two teen age children who keep us busy with tons of activities and interests. However, it is good to focus on our relationship and look forward to the 21st year of our marriage.

We are not the partying type, at least not with Champagne and dancing while the ball drops in Times Square. We have watched it before, but it feels no different than being together at home. The blessing is having someone who cares for you nearby to wish you a Happy New year as they look forward to it with you.

I wish all those who come here to read my thoughts a wonderful new years and look forward to hearing from you in the months to come!

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight

  1. wow… a great way to spend new year’s eve. It was touchy to read that you are willing to spend time with your family on that night. and you said it is even better than going to time square, while from where i am now it looks great.

  2. The scenery in those pictures look incredible. It makes me long to return to the White Mountains and get up close with nature again.

  3. sounds like a great way to ring in the new year! I was with my son at my mom’s house and I just finished reading one of my favorite books. Wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

