Weekly Writing Challenge: Wrap It Up

2012 Belize Mission Team

This is the group picture of the mission team I served with in Belize. I am the one in the orange Belize themed t-shirt.

This is my response to the Weekly Writing Challenge, an opportunity to reflect on the year or some part that stood out for me.

My first inclination is to talk about the recent mission trip I was blessed to complete. It has been the biggest event I have focused on over the last half year. For many years I had the desire to go to another country with the purpose of sharing my faith with others. I was confident the experience would be rewarding, but now that seems such an understatement.

The people we met in Belize were precious. They were so gracious and loving that as I stop to reflect I feel as though they ministered to me every bit as much as I did to them. We heard incredible testimonies of living by faith from these people that put me to shame in a spiritual sense. We are blessed beyond our ability to comprehend in the United States and the developed countries of the world.

I was shopping with my teen age kids and nephew yesterday and it struck me that both shopping centers we visited likely held monetary worth multiple times more than any store I saw in Belize and most of the items inside are totally unnecessary. Yes, I understand that the United Staes has a different consumer mentality, but that doesn’t mean it is necessarily right.

I will remember 2012 mainly for this life experience. I feel it has changed me in a way I did not think could be possible. You see I accepted Christ as my savior when I was a teen, over thirty years ago. I have never strayed away from this truth, but have allowed events over the year to clutter the relationship I have with my Savior. Life is life, whether you are a Christian or not. The difference is staying in a close relationship with the Father through a strong prayer life.

While I was away for the eight day trip I did not sleep very well. Ordinarlily that would be a source of aggravation, but the time was filled by an overwhelming sense that God was present and speaking to my heart. I feel closer to God now than I have in a long time. It is my desire as this year ends and the new one begins to continue this fellowship with my Lord.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Belize, Mission Trip and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

