Merry Christmas – Not Happy Holidays

MC

I am not sure when political correctness got to be a plague, but whenever it was Christmas got caught in the cross hairs. I understand the mentality of inclusiveness, it is a fine quality. But when it causes someone else to feel singled out are we not simply perpetuating the problem? Merry Christmas is not the wrong thing to say. Happy holidays on the other hand is way too generic. Try singing We Wish you a Merry Christmas after swapping in Happy Holidays. Done forget to eliminate Happy New Year as well.

I returned from a mission trip to Belize this past Saturday, December 15, and felt emboldened to share my excitement. As I passed checkpoints and airport personnel I made sure to greet them with a hearty “Merry Christmas”. For the most part I got the company line, which was simply “Happy Holidays”. The notable exception was the stewardesses on the US Air flights. They responded with “Merry Christmas” without hesitation, seeming to enjoy the interaction.

“Yes, I know, some of you will label me a troublemaker or inconsiderate of other’s belief. It won’t be the first or last time for that. I understand others have their own right to see what they do and believe what they like. But so do I. As long as I have breath at this time every year I will say “Merry Christmas”.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Society and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas – Not Happy Holidays

  1. stevebetz says:

    I actually don’t think there’s really that much of a controversy. I don’t know, or have heard of, anyone that’s offended by “Merry Christmas”. I always say Merry Christmas to people that I know celebrate the holiday and the more generic Happy Holidays if I know someone isn’t Christian or doesn’t partake.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

