Blog Festivus # 9 – Rudolph’s Secret

bf12“I can play the song!”

“There is no need!” Rudolph replied.

“But dad it is very clear about who is on the team. You know Dasher and Dancer…”

“Rudy Two I know the song.”

“But let me just play it and you will see what I mean.”

“I don’t need to hear the stupid song!”

“Why exactly will you not let us play the song dad?” Carrie, the older sibling asked.

“Because we all know how it goes.”

“When is mom coming home? You are grouchy!” Rudy Two announced.

“Soon.”

“How soon,” Rudy two asked.

“Very soon.”

“Before Christmas?” Carrie asked.

“I hope so,” Rudolph said, his voice trailing off.

“What?”

“I mean yes, of course. She will definitely be home before Christmas. Just in case though we need to get this place decorated, to surprise her.”

”Why hasn’t mom used her iPad to talk to us?” Rudy Two asked.

“I don’t know. Maybe she does not have internet access.”

“I checked out her place it has Wi-Fi everywhere,” Carrie said.

Rudolph looked at his daughter, then his son before exhaling a long worried sigh.

“I think there is something you better know. Your mom is not away for a trip to Grandma’s. She has been kidnapped.”

“Kidnapped!” Carrie and Rudy Two exclaimed.

“Yes. She is being held by a bad, bad man named Atnas Sualc. He wants me to do something and is using Mom as insurance to make sure I do.”

Note to my readers: As you can see if you have followed this through there is a bigger story involved. If you are interested in the long version you can look for the continuation with “The Blog Festivus:Sualc’s Revenge on December 20th.

Please take a moment to visit the other Blog Festivus writers!

Steve Betz – the holiday mixer.

Rewind Revise – newly married and on her very own joy train.

Lenore Diane – thoughts from the Elf Queen herself.

Shouts from the Abyss – Tom’s on a mission to blighten your holiday season.

Fix It or Deal – Amy Severson bringing it robot-style.

Lynn Schneider Books – Lynn, the BlogFestivus newbie.

1 Point Perspective – the Bruce Willis of WordPress.

So I Went Undercover – she’s undercover and that’s all I’ll say about that.

Joe Owen’s Blog – he’s got forty-something eyes. Not Betty Davis eyes.

MC’s Whispers – Maria-Christina works in PR. What kind of “spin” will she put on this writing challenge?

LittleWonder2 – a musical surfing vampire lover. I know.

Blog It or Lose It! – One word. Minecraft.

Voice in Me – Reena’s from India…where reindeer go on vacation.

Apprentice, never master – Gwendolyn, the fearless.

A Year of Daily Posts – Sarah, the paperback writer (three manuscripts but they count.)

Dot Knows! – Liz, the life changer.

k8edid – oh, yes. She did.

The Day After – A musing wannabe.

A Spoonful of Suga – Making reality sexy.

Random Says – in the moment. At the moment.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blog Festivus # 9 – Rudolph’s Secret

  1. Amy says:

    You over-achiever, you! And “Atnas Sualc” – too funny!

  2. stevebetz says:

    Oh man — left hanging! Great way to change up the expectations!

  3. Blogdramedy says:

    Cliffhanger. No fair! Great job on the stories, Joe. Thanks so much for joining in with us this year. 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

