Swift Blogging Challenge – Part Three – This is Me

swiftThis is my third of five  responses to Tilda Swift’s blogging challenge. I hope you find these interesting and I encourage you to join in the challenge. If not, at least comment on mine.

I hope you enjoy this paragraph which gives you insight to the beginning of my life.

I am a fan of lunch. I also like breakfast and dinner. So it should come as no surprise that I arrived at 11:30 AM on January 5th, some 47 years ago. I was the first born of what would be a two son family. Being first was something I got used too pretty fast. As a matter of fact  think I am the first, or at least the only baby I know to have had hernia surgery on day three of my life. My mother, who was a nurse, said because I was so small I had to have whiskey as my anesthesia. To this day it is the only alcohol I have ever consumed. The next major event in my life was when i took a header into a wooden rocking chair and required several stitches over my left eye. I think my grandmother, who was caring for me at home that day cried as much as I did. The last memory I will add, which has the accompanying picture, was on the day my baby brother came home form the hospital. I begged our neighbor, who also doubled as our day care to take him home with them. Being first meant I was okay being alone.joedad

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swift Blogging Challenge – Part Three – This is Me

  1. LOL love the picture, such a grumpy expressions! I’m the youngest of the family and i often wonder what it would be like to be the oldest so this was especially interesting for me to read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. tfaswift says:

    LOL, that’s very witty and funny! I can see why you want to be a writer. You do have a flair for it, so I hope your dream comes true. Look at your grumpy face on that photo! I have an older brother, and I think he felt the same way you did when I came along! LOL. And he’d been around for *seven* years before I arrived on the seen. His nose was definitely put out of joint, poor guy.

    How unusual about the whiskey …

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

