Swift Blogging Challenge – Part Two

This is my second of five challenge responses to Tilda Swift’s blogging challenge. I hope you find these interesting and I encourage you to join in the challenge. If not, at least comment on mine.

Does the feeling of guilt serve a purpose? If so, what is it?

Guilt can be a tricky emotion. At times it modifies behavior, say like when you might look too long at a person of the opposite sex and they see you turn away. Or when you get too much change at the register or the salesperson charges you a lower price. My guilt will not allow me to walk away.

I feel some guilt when I think of where my children are in their lives and that maybe i could have done this or that when they were younger to spend more time with them. Is there a purpose to this guilt? I guess just to reinforce that life is temporary as is time and we need to utilize it as best we can.

If it serves no purpose, why not? If we feel guilt about something we purposely do, then that truly serves no purpose. I mean if we know it is wrong and we choose to do it, what good is feeling guilty? I am not talking about crimes, please understand, I am talking about things like lying or eating too many doughnuts or something everyone can be faced with each day.

This guilt is a repetitive cycle that you can change if you decide it matters enough.Image

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swift Blogging Challenge – Part Two

  1. The fact that you feel guilt when thinking of raising children speaks wonders to me. Reading that I just know you did a fantastic job. From this brief paragraph, i get the impression you are a great parent cause only a great parent would wonder if they did a good and muse over how they could of done things differently. And i agree so much about the repetitive cycle. In my response this challenge question i spoke about how i view guilt as a “karma check”. I stop and evaluate what i have done, what i didn’t do and then move on with a plan to try to do things better, more passionately and wholeheartedly. Great answer to this question!

  2. tfaswift says:

    Really good answers! Clearly you are a man with a loud conscience. Sometimes we have to wrestle with it a bit, but that’s better than not having one! 🙂

    I look forward to reading more about you on your blog, and I see that your birthday is just around the corner! 🙂 HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Don’t go feeling “guilty” about eating too much cake or having too much fun! 😉

    Thank you again for answering my question at http://tfaswift.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/guilty/ (I did that link to send myself the pingback.)

    I hope my readers feel curious about you when they see your answers, and come over here to check out your blog! 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

