Snowrolls Made by the Wind

You may find this hard to believe, but thirty five years ago we had a freak snowstorm combined with some wicked wind that was part of the worst winter we had experienced in a long, long time in the mountains of Virginia.I was in seventh grade that year and we only went to school two days in January and finished school on June 15, a full three weeks later than usual.

The weirdest thing to come from that time however, was the snowballs rolled up overnight one night in February by the wind. My dad liked to take pictures of deep snow, but this time it was truly a freak of nature that captured our attention.

When we went to bed there was snow on the ground, left over from previous blasts of cold and wet percipitation. During the night the wind and snow fell again, but when we woke we saw a winter wonderland where nature had created snow balls for us.

If you look closely at the photos you will see this is no parlor trick as there are no trails where my brother and I rolled these up. This was truly a natural phenomenon I have never seen anywhere else. How is this for fantastic picture evidence of nature’s wonder?

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowrolls Made by the Wind

  1. I just want to say I am all new to blogging and actually liked this blog site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with great posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing your website page.

  2. These pictures are wonderful! I have never seen anything like this before and I have lived in countries throughout Europe where it is snowing every year.

  3. Destiny Albarracin says:

    Excellent write-up. I certainly appreciate this site. Keep writing!

  4. Two days of school in January? I live in Jersey and only got a week during Hurricane Sandy. Wow. That’s something else. I like your blog a lot. Now following 🙂

  5. Helen says:

    Wow that is amazing. They look more like rolls than balls, but it must have been incredible to see.

  6. This is so cool. I have never heard of or seen before these photos. Great you saved as history. Thanks for post.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

