Best Annuals for Hanging Baskets

Image

I love flowers. It is a love taught to me by my mother and other members of my family. The vibrant colors just act as some kind of natural stimulant to my brain. When my corporate job was eliminated in 2002 I took some time to think about what I wanted to do and chose to start a greenhouse business. As i embarked on this adventure I found myself experimenting with different varieties of flower to determine what looked the best and drew the most interest and therefore business.

Above is a pink variety of what I know as Million Belles, or a hybrid petunia. It is a much smaller version of a wave petunia, which may be more widely known simply by it’s common name.Image

This red million belle is very beautiful if the proper fertilization is maintained that keeps the foliage a dark green color. Actually, I fertilized the plant to the point the foliage had more of a blue green tint, which also make the color itself richer and more striking.

Image

Unfortunately i do not see many people willing to experiment with the white wave petunia as I did in this basket. Again, the fertilization is crucial to keep the foliage color in check so that you have a great contrast that makes the pure white of the blooms so vibrant. This particular variety is particularly striking with any of the other colors of wave petunias as well as any other color combination of other flower types.

ImageImage

The next two pictures show combination hanging baskets with two colors (pink and light purple) of trailing verbena as well as a light green Ipomea (Sweet Potato plant). This is not the type of plant to get actual sweet potatoes from, although you will see a sweet potato at the end of the season.Image

The last picture as a combination of three plants: Osteospermum, dark purple Ipomea and a pink Million Belle for a nice color contrast. These plants all need comparable fertilization, which makes the job of caring for them easy. The Osteospermum will take more moisture and will begin to wilt before the other varieties so keep an eye on this indicator.

If you want to know more about any of these varieties please message me.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in flowers, greenhouse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

