Frankenstorm – When weather wants the spotlight

Image

Will we see a Halloween storm to remember? Well the Weather Channel is always playing Chicken Little with any large scale storm, whether it be a Tornado Outbreak like the one that spawned several Tornadoes in the Spring of 2011 including one that devastated parts of my dad’s hometown or Hurricanes like Hugo, Andrew and Katrina.

I do not fault the Weather Channel, I mean they are a form of entertainment. Yes, the weather is a large part of our world, but some of the programs that come with it are strictly for entertainment purposes. I found it humorous that following the banner year that included 20 some storms and the iconic Katrina that the Weather Channel renamed itself the Hurricane Authority. The next two years were particularly devoid of large storms.

So the possibility of another large scale, disastrous event has the folks at the Atlanta based studios all abuzz. I heard a meterologist on the morning show today ruminating on all the possible scenarios. The “if this” and “then that” sentences went on and on. They are at least partially hoping to have something to draw viewers.

So what is the Frankenstorm? It would be the culmination of three weather events. First of all you have a late season Hurricane Sandy riding the United States East Coast. From the Midwest is a sizable winter type storm. Our friends to the north are lending a strong cold front for the monsters bash next week.

If the three merge we could experience serious wind, rain and or snow. I hear forecasts of temperatures half what they are in my region next week. I am in awe of nature just as anyone else and will watch with interest to see how the meteorology plays out.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

