Weekly Writing Challenge – Golden Years

Weekly Writing Challenge

JUST A NUMBER

For this week’s writing challenge, we’re asking you to explore what age means to you. Is the the loss of youth, or the cultivation of wisdom? Do things get better as you grow older, or worse? There are many ways to interpret age, often depending on your relationship with the passing of time.

For my response to this challenge I circle back to a prevailing thought that demarcates my life in two parts: the years prior to January 8th 1997 and the days from then until now. What you may ask had such a dominating force on my life? Could it be graduation from high school or college, a new job, the day I got married or something entirely different?

It was the seminal event that changed my entire perception of age and the importance there in. I had an average childhood, you know what I mean, the type where years were like milestones. Thirteen was a big deal because I achieved the rank of teenager. Sixteen meant I could drive, at eighteen I registered for the draft and got the right to vote.

But with the good milestones came the ones not so coveted, like turning thirty. I can remember when I was younger thinking thirty was so old. Something like middle age and even though I wanted to achieve the plateaus that allowed freedoms, I dreaded this magical number. I dreaded it so much that I was a royal hind end when it came and whined incessantly about it.

But that was in 1995. As you may remember from above my important date was january 8th, 1997. This was the date my only sibling, Kevin, died from ColoRectal Cancer. He was twenty-nine, much too young for the doctors and medical professionals to have considered the type of disease that claimed his life. I already knew life was precious before this, but on that day i learned age is simply a number.

As I tell everyone now birthdays are not something bad. The only alternative is to stop counting or surrender to death. I choose to count as many as I am blessed to celebrate.

Other Golden Year posts:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Amnesia | Crazy Art
  2. Ilya Fostiy. Muse | The Bliss of Reality
  3. Youth Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  4. The Illusive FEAR of Getting Old | Musings | WANGSGARD
  5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | In my world
  6. Looking Back (and Traveling) | JGTravels
  7. Thoughts on Aging | melissuhhsmiles
  8. Yelp for help…… | Obsessive Compulsive Running…….
  9. Youth is a B— | The Backwords
  10. Riding Into The Sunrise
  11. Weekly writing challenge- golden years | A picture is worth 1000 words
  12. The Defining Number | Through The Eyes Productions
  13. I am not my mother | Twisting Suburbia
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge – Perspective | Joe’s Musings
  15. Artfully Aspiring
  16. Wisdom of a Toddler | Artfully Aspiring
  17. I Couldn’t Wait | Fish Of Gold
  18. Young or old? Here’s how to tell | The Crayon Files
  19. The Elders of Us | Wired With Words
  20. Aging with grace and acceptance | Ezhealthcents
  21. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | imagination
  23. Thirsty thirties | Scent of Rina
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: GOLDEN YEARS | Thinking Languages!
  25. Wholehearted living… One day at a time. | masknolonger
  26. You’re As Old As You Feel | A Day In The Life
  27. Social Media has changed me | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  28. Golden Years | Icezine
  29. Counting The Scars/ Weekly Writing Challenge | standinginthestorm
  30. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Golden Years | Mirth and Motivation
  31. Fearless Youth | the intrinsickness
  32. Golden Years | mnemosynesandlethe
  33. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | MythRider
  34. i am always looking | y
  35. nobody has said if | y
  36. Age is Just a Number | Random Words
  37. The Age of a New Season | Mary J Melange
  38. Stories From My Mind
  39. It is OK, I am here | jessicadafoe
  40. We’re Still Aging! | theeyelife
  41. Age isn’t defined by a number (unless you’re a minor…). | …Properly Ridiculous…
  42. Working Girl | Never Stationary
  43. Golden Years (DPChallenge) | Between Madness & Euphoria
  44. “Unforgotten” | Cosmic Heroism
  45. And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade
  46. Age is Just a Number – – Ha! Age is a Bunch of Numbers! | Once Upon Your Prime. . .
  47. Y’alright? | TNT
  48. GOLDEN WHAT? | SERENDIPITY
  49. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | KiwiBee’s Chaos
  50. A Letter to Myself…(WP weekly writing challenge) | Daily Observations
  51. Is there an app for that? | the REmissionary
  52. Moving Through the Ages | In the Spaces Between Words and Images
  53. The Miracle | Rolbos ©
  54. Birthday Muttering & The Space Time Continuum | Unload and Unwind
  55. Life is a Terminal Disease, Thank God! | jlaneb
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Thoughts of an INFP
  57. Kids Make the Best Bookies: A Childhood Gambled on God and the Mob | reinventing the event horizon
  58. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Nursing Reunion (Golden Years) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  59. 48. EMBRACING TOMORROW | Gateway of Infinite Pathways
  60. Weekly Writing Challenge: (Tarnished) Golden Years « cognitive reflection
  61. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Of Glass & Paper
  62. Age is relative… | Hope* the happy hugger
  63. here we are, the | y
  64. golden years | yi-ching lin photography
  65. A master of sugar craft – (passion and destiny) | Travelandfoodworldwide
  66. The Defining Number | Through The Eyes Productions
  67. DP Challenge -Golden Years | My Other Blog
  68. What do age and time really mean? | jenniferannefleming
  69. Things Pondered: Life, Aging and the Meaning of It All | Sweet Tea and Poetry
  70. Maiden, Mother, Crone: all in one | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  71. Do you hear what I hear? | the Art of Practice
  72. Goodbye my Child | Victoria.K.Gallagher
  73. Here’s The Thing About Age (That No One Seems To Know) | Sammi Talk
  74. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: The Golden Years
  75. It’s Magic ::E.N.Howie’s Motivational Moments
  76. Here’s The Thing About Age (That No One Seems To Know) | Sammi Talk
  77. Worlds Apart | Apoplectic Apostrophes
  78. Death and Suffering: A fear of the Unknown | Thorough and Unkempt
  79. The Path | siobhanmcnamara
  80. Weekly writing challenge, the Golden years : It’s all Gold, a 95 word story | Challenged for Words
  81. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  82. Turning 26 | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  83. Teenage years? | Paper Plane Pilots
  84. Meaning of age | MamaAsparagus
  85. Beauty In A Plastic Age | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  86. The Young Old Lady, Mrs.Thopmson | alifemoment
  87. Twenty-seven: The Year of My Death | Schizo Incognito
  88. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years: After the Lights Went Out: The Lost Years | Just Be V
  89. Wrinkles | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  90. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Sarah Alison
  91. On Being 22 | motor city blondie
  92. Bending God. | thejimmieG
  93. If You Could Have Immortality..Would You Take It? | B.Kaotic
  94. “HIM” Weekly Writing Challenge | standinginthestorm
  95. Weekly Writing Challenge: Perspective Through The Ages | Fit 4 Life, LLC
  96. Aging like a fine Wine | C Life, Live Life
  97. “Can I See Your ID Please?” | littleladyme
  98. Birthday March | accidentallyreflective
  99. The Golden Years : Fashion Sense Vs. Fashion Sensibility | The Day After
  100. youth | yi-ching lin photography
    1. along the hem of | y
    2. Age Illusions and Disillusions: Men and Women Turning Thirty (Weekly Writing Challenge) | Ana Linden
    3. Mourning the end of a Chapter | A Fit and Focused Future
    4. Premiere… | Words ‘n Pics…
    5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | The Willows Weeped
    6. A Hand Across the Ages | Toss the Typewriter
    7. That Age Old Question | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
    8. You know those giant pill holders? I have one. | poema
    9. The 18th of August 1941 – Germantown, Maryland | Forgotten Correspondence
    10. Things I cannot change | Lesie’s World
    11. The Golden Years | Starting Write Now
    12. A Soundtrack to the Ageing Process | Fun with Depression
    13. Golden Years | Jennifer Paige
    14. The Loss of Youth | adventures in adulting*
    15. Weekly Writing Challenge:Golden Years | Simply about Life
    16. Sorry Stevie | fifty5words
    17. Middle March | Love in the Spaces
    18. Oh No! I’ve Turned Into My Own Mom Parenting A Child Who Is Just Like Me | . . . Furthest Sense
    19. Effectively Ageless | rarasaur
    20. Golden Years | hello from Sandy
    21. Positive(ly) thought(less) | soulfoood
    22. Into the unknown | Colour the moment
    23. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | Purplesus’ Blog
    24. Age ain’t nothin’ but a number… | The Mrs. Z Files
    25. On Being Where I Am | Imperfect Happiness
    26. The Sociopath At The High School Reunion | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
    27. Maybe Not | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
    28. My own individual, stubborn, uncooperative often self-centered nature that still doubts itself | An Upturned Soul
    29. DP Challenge: How I made myself old | one hundred thousand beats per day
    30. Playing the Generation Game | I’m Drew Llew, how do you do?
    31. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years, 13.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
    32. My Memories – Oops, I Mean Memoirs – Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | writesomethingtoday
    33. I’m Young, Get Over It | Victim to Charm
    34. Centenary Sparkle | litadoolan

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge – Golden Years

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing/Photo Challenge: Inside – Golden Years | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Amazing post – really enjoyed it. I can totally relate to looking forward to those milestones and also the dreaded 30… 40 etc. You’re right – as we get older we realise that age is only a number…
    I’m sorry for your loss.
    Many thanks for the mention and good luck with your book!

  3. Pingback: The 11th of May 1993 – Los Angeles, California | Forgotten Correspondence

  4. litadoolan says:

    It’s amazing and brilliant that you draw positive from something so challenging. Your strength serves you well! Inspiring post.

If I hear from you I know you like what you read!

