Paradise Gone – Friday Fictioneers – 2/22/13

Copyright-Janet-Webb

Copyright-Janet-Webb

When the week draws toward its close we all draw a deep breath as we know the weekend is coming. But for those of use infected with the Friday Fictioneers virus, there is another event we look forward to completing. It is the written response to the picture prompt posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields each week.

A special thanks to Janet Webb for the photo we use as the jumping off point. I must say I had to take some time to interpret the photo. I even considered Zombie and Vampire tales before I finally settled on the 100 words below.

I have made many friends with the 90+ souls that try this task each week. We have friends from the far reaches of the globe that follow each other’s stories each week. It is an exicting effort, both in the writing and the reading. Come along with us and try your hand at the Friday fictioneers prompt!

Genre (General Fiction)
I saw very little of the beautiful farm my Grandfather took such pride in.

The fields were overgrown from years of neglect. No animals roamed as they did in my youth; there was only remnants of fence that were hidden by vines and briars.

Mom told me it was not salvageable, but I had to see for myself. I was glad Pop could not see it now. He would have found it so depressing.

Looking at the barn behind the white pickets I realized the sale was necessary. No one in the family cared enough anymore to do the job.



About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Paradise Gone – Friday Fictioneers – 2/22/13

  1. Oh, that’s so sad but often the case with the lives we live these days. Well written and thought provoking.

  2. Bee says:

    So hearbreaking!

  3. Parul says:

    Sad, but I guess true to a lot of ancestral properties.

  4. Sunshine says:

    love your guy because he did not take all the gossip…at least took the time to make his own assessment of the situation. perhaps my country boys in my story can help renovate this old barn. :)

If I hear from you I know you like what you read!

